Hola, Amigos!

May 5, 2017

Apparently it’s time for my annual Cinco de Mayo post!

I’m not going to even mention how shameful it is that I haven’t blogged at all in the past six months, even though I pretend to be a writer.

I’m not going to mention it because I have something much more shameful to mention — the fact that I’m a billion months pregnant (almost 31 weeks) and have been too lazy to even write about that on the blog! Poor little neglected second baby.

Neglected second baby (NSB) is another boy and he’s due the first week of July. His wise and mature older brother Theo will be almost 20 months when he is born. I plan to deliver him and then leave for a vacation in Europe because the thought of taking care of a newborn and a 20-month-old together at the same time is terrifying to me. So, who wants to go to Spain this summer? (Or the Jesus Freak cruise?!)

Just kidding, NSB. I love you and I promise I will get you a dresser and paint your room and find you something to sleep in and maybe get you a clothing or two by July.

Maybe. Because this is what the “nursery” looks like at the moment:

So, that whole growing a human inside of my body thing has been going on lately. We’ve also been spending a lot of time with this guy.

Theo is a nut. He’s funny and full of personality and lately full of opinions which may or may not line up with what he’s supposed to do. Whenever he does decide to obey, though, he claps for himself, so his self-esteem is doing well. He’s still not really talking yet, besides a few random words here and there, which causes me to nervously go to the Internet because the Googles help me rationally diagnose him, obviously. However, I then hear him having entire babbling conversations with us and understanding every word I say, and using a few signs, and I realize that he’s so social that the minute he does start to talk, he’s never going to stop, so maybe we should enjoy the moment.

What else? I went back to work part-time at the end of October and had the best week of enjoying talking to adults and reading interesting things and putting on non-stretchy pants. Then at the end of that week, I discovered I was pregnant. It happened sooner than we had planned, but we are grateful. We’ve had a really great year — I’ve worked mornings and Andrew has worked afternoons, and we’ve both gotten quality time with Theo. (And since I am home in the afternoons, I get Theo’s nap times. 🙂 ) The baby will come right as Andrew gets off of work for the summer, so God actually had a great plan for it all!

This little King of the World is about to get a reality check in July…

I don’t have much to say about politics because — sigh. And obviously we can all just read Andrew Jackson’s views on the 2017 political climate and go from there.

I also don’t have much to say about TV since This Is Us is over for the season. Don’t we miss it so? It’ll be back this fall, though, to make us sob every week. Right now we are loving Survivor because kicking it old school with one of the first reality TV shows is what we are about. We’ve also been watching Big Brother Canada. Judge away.

Oh, did I tell you we bought a new house? Probably not because I don’t blog. Well, we did, and it’s blue and was built in 1956 and has lovely hardwood floors and nice upgrades.


We are loving it so far, except for the tiny closets. And the skunk who gets terrified a bit too often. Also, it came with a ghost.

But otherwise it is lovely. Theo especially likes the yard where he falls into puddles and gets his clothes muddy by 10 a.m.
Oh, here’s a little bone I have to pick with Internet commenters. Because that usually goes well. Lately when I read comments on articles (always a wise choice), I sometimes see Christians using the “Jesus throwing over the money changers’ tables in the temple” as a reason to get angry and be forceful with people who disagree with them. Jesus did it, so we can too. I’ve seen this argument used a lot — usually to defend why Christians can be harsh with others’ political beliefs.

Now, I certainly think I can be solid in my beliefs and defend them to others. There’s a lot of fear of offending people lately, and sometimes people need to learn that just because someone disagrees with you doesn’t mean they’re being offensive or hurtful or intolerant. People need to calm down with the getting triggered. However, I think using the argument about Jesus and the money changers is wrong and shows bad theology.

Jesus, first of all, got angry with the religious Jews who were overcharging worshippers who needed to buy their sacrifices. So, Jesus was getting mad at His own people, His fellow believers, who were being greedy towards people who wanted to worship God. Secondly, Jesus is mad at the fact that the money changers set up their shop in the Court of the Gentiles. The temple was structured with different courts that allowed people to only get so close to the Holy of Holies, where God’s presence was. The outer court was where Gentiles (non-Jews) were allowed to come worship and pray. Isaiah 56 talks about how God wants foreigners to be able to come and worship Him in His house (the temple), and how God will accept their offerings in His house of prayer for all nations. Because the money changers had set up their buying and selling in the Court of the Gentiles, it was crowding out the non-Jews who wanted to come worship God. This is the opposite of what the Israelites were supposed to be doing. Their mission from God (as given back in the law) was to be a light to the Gentiles and to draw them to worship Him, the one true God. And yet, here were God’s chosen people elevating greed over evangelism.

This is why Jesus gets angry — He’s mad at His own people for getting it wrong. It’s not because He’s mad at the opposing political party for voting for someone He didn’t like. So, umm, that’s all. I just wanted to share because I think people use this argument incorrectly all the time, and in doing so, misrepresent Jesus’ righteous anger.

The end.

OK, now that I’ve annoyed some people, that’s probably my cue to leave. NSB and I have to go not finish taking down the 1980s wallpaper in his nursery.

Love you all! Maybe I’ll write again before the new baby turns two!

 

 

3 Responses to “Hola, Amigos!”

  1. Kelly said

    Awe Denise, you made my morning!! You are totally hilarious and bring everyone’s reality to lite. Sounds like all is great and your having a blast doing it!!

  2. Elyse Jacobson said

    Loved hearing how you’re doing and your thoughts on Jesus’ anger. We didn’t set much of anything up until number two arrived…don’t know that we even had newborn diapers except the hospital ones! Kinda felt bad and kinda didn’t! It all worked out well. : )

  3. I DID NOT KNOW YOU ARE PREGNANT AGAIN. What a fun surprise for me! And I will read your blog for the rest of my days, no matter the lag time in between posts (love, a fellow Lapsed Blogger).

Leave a comment