Back to the Grind

April 5, 2016

Sorry I didn’t blog last week, guys. We were on spring break! Andrew had the whole week off, so we went to Fairmont, BC and enjoyed the mountains and hot springs. We had good friends, good food (I’m fat), and great weather!

So beautiful! Also, SO many deer droppings.

This week Andrew is back at work, and so far today Theo has peed on my bed and thrown up on me twice. So I guess spring break is over.

Theo loved getting to spend so much time with Andrew last week. He is such a fun dad and took Theo swimming and on walks and showed him what it feels like to play on green grass. By the end of the week, Theo would just stare at Andrew with an adoring smile any time he was around.

Best friends.

I, on the other hand, am old news. I get a smile with some vomit. The other day, Theo started burrowing his head into my shoulder, which I thought meant that he wanted to give hugs to his favorite mommy. But then I realized that he was just sucking on my shoulder and getting saliva all over me. Also, he has recently figured out where his food comes from, which means that he is constantly pawing at me in a very ungentlemanly fashion. But whatever. Look at this sweet face.

From this plaid button-up, you would think that he’s a gentleman.

Ugh. I am feeling stressed. I am still waiting on this work visa extension, and if it doesn’t come this week, it affects my legal status, my maternity leave payments, my healthcare and my ability to travel. So, seriously, if you think of it, I would love your prayers that it shows up in my mailbox like now. Thank you so much!

Our washing machine broke the other day, which was a fun treat. It would get stuck on the spin cycle and to get it to reset, we’d have to open up the drain and let all the water gush all over our laundry room floor, which meant millions of mops and sopping towels. It was super cute. But $300 later, it’s fixed and I get to wash towels for days.

Guys, I am on a cleanse. After last week’s spring break eating and the previous weeks of no-excuse-for-all-those-chips eating, I have got to get. on. it. So yesterday I worked out and ate some pineapple. (In my world, a cleanse means trying to eat fewer Doritos.)

Did everyone see the NCAA championship game last night? (Only if you have TBS.) Such an awesome game! Also, I won both of my brackets because I’m a basketball genius (very lucky).

So now apparently Trump wants to give forty lashes to women who get abortions, and then keep abortion legal and then outlaw abortions, and then give free abortions to everyone. Or something. Nice work.

OK, nap time is almost over and I still have 700 loads of laundry to do. As I was stressing about my work visa, this verse popped into my mind: “Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” So, let’s do that today!

He's a very trusting kind of guy.

He’s a very trusting kind of guy.

K, bye everyone! Smooches! (Why? No one knows.)

2 Responses to “Back to the Grind”

  1. Anonymous said

    Love your blog! Praying you get your visa soon!

  2. Clarissa said

    Hi Denise! Thinking about you and hoping your work extension visa went through?
    Love your little Theo. Doll of dolls!

Leave a Reply

