Enough with the Airports

January 20, 2014

Well, I’m back in Denver, everyone. My life is so weird right now.

Yesterday I said goodbye to Andrew, which involved tears and cursing the Canadian government. (JK, Canadian government. I heart you. Please give me a visa.)

I thought I was looking stylish in this pic, but then my mom told me she has the same sweater. So, there’s that.

deniseandandrew

I spent much of yesterday in airports, because that’s just what I like to do. At the Calgary airport, I saw the end of the Broncos game!! Superbowl City! I’ve never had a home team make it to the Superbowl (VIKINGS, I AM LOOKING AT YOU WITH DISAPPOINTED EYES). I have to find the nearest bandwagon and jump right on. Actually, I really like football, but because this fall has been so odd with constant traveling, I’ve barely watched any NFL this year. But I’m excited to get to cheer on Denver! Watch out, Seattle. We’ve got this guy.

demonhorse

Anyhoo, our flight was delayed (shocking), so as we were waiting to get on, I kept hearing what sounded like a cat meowing. And then I looked at the lady sitting across from me holding her cat who was having a nervous breakdown because his owner was making him fly on a plane. Like non-stop, loud meowing. On our flight. Fun.

It’s apparently impossible to get a direct flight from Denver to Calgary for less than $10,000, so I got to have a layover in Phoenix. Phoenix, what is your deal? Your airport is basically one mile long and it smells like a high school gym. Also, naming all your gift shops AmAZing Gifts is not that clever. Get it together.

I didn’t get in to Denver last night until after midnight. Airports are weird when they are nearly empty. I kept looking for Tom Hanks to see if he had set up a home I could stay in. (Get it? No? This is a poor and obscure reference to that not-very-popular movie, The Terminal. Only the latest pop culture info on this here blog.) My sweet friend Diana picked me up at 1 a.m., even though she had to work today. What a gem! (My new thing is going to be calling people “gems.” Get ready.)

Today I have to get an assignment done for Cook (sorry, Jen!) and catch up on all the Parenthood! Tears, drama! I don’t know if I can handle the sadness today. I may need to supplement with some Psych. You know that’s right.

Have a good day, friendsiedoodles! You are all gems.

2 Responses to “Enough with the Airports”

  1. Wade said

    I like your combination of words. They all make me smile. Praying for a big Canadian YES!

  2. denisemorris said

    Thanks, Wade!!

Leave a Reply

