Of Hipster Hats and Cartoon Snowmen

January 13, 2014

Did everyone have a good weekend? Did you spend it watching football? I didn’t, but I hear that the Broncos won and are going to the AFC championship. Is this correct? Two games away from Superbowl XXIIIXX67XXII00*$(#)? Is this true?

On Thursday night we went to Edmonton to take some students to their improv performance. Andrew doesn’t teach improv, but he does drive a bus.

IMG_5223

On the drive, Tara the drama teacher leaned over and asked me if I had always dreamed of dating a hipster bus driver. Obviously.

Andrew is super proud of his hat — in all its ironic corduroy duck glory. #tryingtoohard

hipsterhatWe saw Frozen, you guys! We thought the music was great! And I liked the plot built around the sisters. And I wish Sven had stayed a darling baby reindeer for the whole movie. Guess who didn’t love the hilarious snowman? Someone in a duck hat. I thought he was so funny and cute! Also, we saw the movie with about 6 million children in the theater (is it sad that two adults saw a children’s movie for their Saturday evening entertainment?) and they were so funny to listen to. They basically talked throughout the whole movie — “Why is she sad?” “This is scary!” “Will they find Elsa?” “Why didn’t Sven stay a darling baby reindeer?” “I thought they lived in Norway or something; why is the whole town shocked to see snow?” “Hahahah, Olaf is hil-ar-i-ous” (everyone except Andrew)! “Who knew Kristen Bell had such a good singing voice?!” “Olaf’s wish for summer is a bit morbid.” “I wish my waist were as skinny as Anna’s.” (Maybe I was the one who talked through the whole movie.)

I mean, what’s not to love?

olaf

On Sunday, Andrew’s niece Abbey was dedicated to the Lord at church. Then, because she will be one this week, we had a birthday party back at Stacy and Jeff’s. We ate so much good food, and Abbey spent most of the day saying “Oh, wow!” to the helium balloons.

I failed at my fancy diet this weekend. Sometimes fats and carbs need to be combined for deliciousness reasons.

I have somehow accumulated about 60 Target bags since I’ve been here. No one knows how it happened. Mystery.

My friend Suzanne posted this link that compared jeans at Old Navy, Gap and Expensive Stores. Basically, I have to quit buying jeans at Old Navy. Like, it is no longer an option. Look at the pictures!!!

OK, gotsta go. I have laundry to do and fats and carbs to not eat together. Have a happy day!

4 Responses to “Of Hipster Hats and Cartoon Snowmen”

  1. Suzanne said

    Yes, jeans from Old Navy or Gap are “gateway mom jeans.” No beuno! Of course, if you’re hanging out with a guy in a duck hat (or in my case, a guy with a wardrobe of Superman shirts), people probably won’t be looking at your jeans. 😉

  2. Anonymous said

    I’ve followed your blog for a little while now. Why are you not discussing Downton Abbey?!?!

  3. denisemorris said

    Suzanne: good point. 😉

    Anonymous: Who are you?!?! Also, I would be discussing Downton but I’m behind because of CANADA. As soon as I get back to the States, I will watch and discuss. Don’t worry.

  4. Laura said

    I just watched Frozen last night and I loved it so much!!! I’m glad you loved it too!

Leave a Reply

