Friday Listday: Canadian Style

May 31, 2013

Sorry that I didn’t blog yesterday, you guys. Get off my back. (Actually, no one was on my back. No one said a word. No one noticed that I didn’t blog. I’m hurt.)

I’m willing to try to forgive you all, although it may take a little time and effort. Time and effort that I will invest into Friday Listday!

1. Do you guys even really know where I’m at? Since I’ve been dating Andrew, I’ve realized that I (and pretty much every all other Americans) don’t know much about countries other than our own. Selfish. We especially don’t know anything about Canada. Except that it is America’s hat. So, here are a few facts for you.

* I am living in the province of Alberta. A province is like a state. Alberta is right above Montana.

alberta

* There are 10 provinces in Canada and three territories. I think about 4 and a half people live in the territories according to the last census.

* Canada is the world’s second largest country, by area. It is cold a lot. Also, apparently Alberta is Seattle, because it’s been raining quite a bit. However when the sun does come out, it stays out until almost 10 in the summer, and I am loving it. It never feels late, and we can go for walks and it’s beautiful. The upside of the rain is that everything is green and fresh, and all the trees are blooming. This is the tree that lives outside my window.

tree

* The capital of Canada is Ottawa, which is located in the province of Ontario. But here’s something confusing that I just discovered. Toronto is the provincial capital of Ontario. That would be like Denver being the capital of the United States, but Colorado Springs being the capital of Colorado. I don’t get it. (Andrew, please explain your country to us.)

* The capital of Alberta is Edmonton, which is in northern Alberta. Calgary is Alberta’s largest city and it’s in southern Alberta. Red Deer (or The Deer, as the locals (me) like to call it) is right in between Calgary and Edmonton and about 100,000 people live here.

red deer

* Also, about 100,000 jackrabbits live in Red Deer. They are giant and I think they could rise up and kill us all.

www.richard-seaman.com

OK, that was point number one and everyone has fallen asleep due to my geography lesson. Friday Listday is off to a good start.

2. Let’s wake up and get our hearts pumping with a little Prancercise! Because this is a thing. A glorious thing in which you prance around like a horse in too-tight pants. Enjoy.

3. I did not blog yesterday because I was in southern Alberta visiting my friend Alecia!! She was in northern Montana this week and decided to drive up in to Canada to come see me. It was the best because it meant that I had a bit of home here, a bestie to chat with. So good. Alecia was enthralled with Canada (even though she’s been here about seven thousand times and it’s really not that different from the States). She took lots of pictures of candy. I think because some of the wrappers are different and they have some French wording? She also took a picture of the bathroom because it’s called a washroom in Canada. And she took pictures of donuts, although I’m still not sure why. Overall, it was great good times to see her and Opie the Dog.

4. One of my favorite things about Red Deer so far is that they have a store called Bulk Barn. It is a magical world of candy and spices and chips and natural peanut butter and bird seed — all available in bulk form. I may have gotten a lot of sour gummy candy (because apparently that’s my new thing?) Look what else they have in bulk, you guys!

skittles

5. OK, here’s a real problem. My car has been smelling weird lately, and I couldn’t figure out what it was. Yesterday I discovered that the floorboard on my driver’s side is soaking wet. Like soaking. Also, last night I was driving without the radio on, and when I braked, I could hear sloshing. There’s water in my car, you guys. Where? How? Why? The other day there was a huge storm, and I had to drive through a lake-sized puddle. Could that be it? But how did it get into the car? Andย where is it in my car? If you or someone you know might know what’s wrong and how to fix the problem for $0-$1, please let me know!

6. I wrote posts about graduation and post-graduation over on Boundless. I have so much more time now that I’m free from school! It’s weird and kind of nice. I am realizing that I have time to stop in at an antique store if I want to. I have time to pluck my eyebrows, to get my clothes folded, to go for walks. It’s the small things that I’m noticing, and the past couple of days, I’m kind of liking it. However, there is still one thing I do not have time for.

that

7. It is so great to get to see Andrew every day, you guys. We’ve been long distance for a long time, and honestly, I got kind of used to it. For us it was “normal” to talk on the phone or Facetime once a day. I didn’t expect to see him or to go to events with him or to have dinner with him. But now that we’re getting to do those things, I am loving it. The other night we got a boatload of sushi. (Get it? You guys, do you get it? The sushi is in a literal boat.)

sushi

After sushi, we went to the library and read magazines. Then watched Lost. And then I got to see him the next day. It’s really wonderful. I love him and I’m just very, very grateful that the Lord has brought me joy through this funny, smart, hard-working, perfect-for-me man. The best.

OK, guys. I haven’t been to Target in like three days, which is some kind of record. It is probably missing me. I should go visit. Also, tonight we are going to a graduation banquet at the high school Andrew teaches at. In Canada, high school students graduate before finals. There’s still like three or four weeks of school left, but graduation is today. And then they have a formal banquet tonight. They dress up like for prom. (Sadly, I forgot my bright pink prom dress, which would have been a treat for everyone.) So, I should probably take a shower or something.

I hope you all have a great times weekend! Joves to you!

7 Responses to “Friday Listday: Canadian Style”

  1. Yay! You must learn O’ Caaaaanadaaaaa. And what’s up with the province of Newfoundland and Labrador not even being acknowledged on the map? Half of my family is from there. They are a weird bunch. Ask Andrew, they’re easy to make fun of. It’s deserved.
    I watched Prancercise with no sound (coffee shop, didn’t wanna be weird), but dang. First- If I saw this at the local goat-track golf course, I’d throw sticks at her. I did that to William & Mary students as they jogged and rollerbladed by because I thought they looked smug. But this?! I’d get an armful of kindling and pelt her until she stopped and ran for reals. What’s up with that look? Is that a wig? Biggest question: Is that a dude? It’s a dude, isn’t it?
    Much as I loved the prancering, number 7 is my favorite. It makes me glad and I even got a little misty-eyed. Stick throwers usually avoid that stuff. But there it is… tears of happy. For you.

  2. denisemorris said

    Heather, Andrew went to Newfoundland a couple years ago. He described it as “different.” You can decide if that’s positive or negative. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Prancercise “lady” is special. She deserves sticks.

    Thanks for the tears. For me. You are sweet.

  3. rachel said

    it’s official. your blog is my emotional support during each of my pregnancies. i specifically remember reading your blog during my last pregnancy on the tough, hormonal, i-need-to-cry days, and you would make me laugh until i thought i might start early labor. and then this. laughing til i cry. early labor is a risk i’m willing to take if i get to laugh this much. i need you to keep blogging at least through september, okay?
    and another thing- we have water in our car, too!!! i haven’t checked the floor to see if it’s wet, but for weeks i’ve been hearing sloshing every.single.time i hit the brake and then accelerate again. and the mechanic couldn’t find ANYTHING. not a thing. what?!? it could be worse though. it’s kind of like driving near the ocean, i would imagine.
    i’m glad you’re having such a lovely time in canada.:)

  4. denisemorris said

    Rachel! That is awesome! I’m glad I can support you through pregnancy. I’ll bring you pickles or chips if you want, too. If you go into early labor, please name your child after me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I can’t believe you have water in your car too! That makes me feel a bit better. I don’t know what to do about it! Maybe it will drain??

  5. Micah said

    I’m gonna need to see a picture of you in that prom dress.

  6. Anonymous said

    That prancercise video was so awful. Seriously. I love this blog! You sound so carefree ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats on being done with school, your rock! When I was a kid my dad went fishing up in Canada annually. He would always bring back a huge grocery bagful of all the different Canadian candy bars. We called them canucks and eat them is disgusting quantities. Good times..

  7. clarissa said

    Sorry I forgot to put my name with that last comment ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

