What’s In A Name?

March 1, 2012

I feel like I do not have much to tell you today. Mostly because I didn’t watch any TV yesterday, and that’s usually what I talk to you about. Did you watch any TV yesterday? Tell me about it.

So, it is The Long Winter in the Ingalls world. An old Indian warned them that winter would last for seven awful months and there would be so many blizzards. And he was right. The train cannot get through with any supplies, so it is bad news bears. They are out of coal, and Laura and Pa have to twist hay into sturdy sticks so they can burn them. There is no more flour, so they have a sack of wheat that they grind continuously in the coffee grinder so they can have bread. It is pretty miserable. I’m hoping that “all’s well that ends well.”

We’re starting to translate parts of Daniel in my Aramaic class. The Israelites have been exiled to Babylon and some of the brightest Israelite young men have been brought to the palace to learn and work for the king. Daniel and his three friends are there. I’ve gone on my name rant about Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, right? How those are the names the Babylonian king gave them and that they’re all names that honor false gods? Their true names were Hananiah, Mishael and Azariah, which mean: “Yahweh is gracious,” “Who is like Yahweh” and “Yahweh has helped.” That’s what they would want to be called — their Hebrew names. Probs not Rack, Shack and Benny.

I do love the bunny, though.

I taught a class at church last night, and I think it went pretty well. It started out with me blabbering a lot, but then we got into the Old Testament and Jewishness and me forcing everyone to celebrate Passover, and I felt right at home. We talked about how when little Orthodox Jewish boys in Israel start to study Torah, their rabbis go around and put a piece of wax paper on their new Bibles. They then put a squirt of honey on each paper and have the boys stick their finger in it to taste it. “Never forget what God’s Word tastes like!” they say. It is sweeter than honey and the drippings of the honeycomb.

Well, today I have to do some tutoring and some small grouping. I also am going to try to work out for the first time since last week when my back decided to mutiny. We’ll see.

Have a good times day, friends!

5 Responses to “What’s In A Name?”

  1. Becca said

    No TV yesterday? I feel like I watched TV all day long. First the Parenthood finale. In the evening, I watched One Tree Hill. I know I told you that this season is weird, but it’s getting better and last night they threw a curveball SO big I was grabbing the sides of my face. I did not see it coming and has to do with a storyline from 3 seasons ago! I was emotional. Jeff was mocking me.

    Then, we watched the supersized episode of Psych! I won’t tell details, but it’s super good. My favorite scene was when Woody took a 6-pack out of the freezer where they keep the bodies and said, “It’s 9am somewhere!” THEN, I saw David Letterman interview Taylor Kitsch (Tim Riggins). He has short hair now and talked about how he slept on the subway in NY for several months because he didn’t have any acting work.

    Happy Thursday, friend. I think I watched enough TV for the both of us yesterday. 🙂

  2. My grandmother had a rhyme for remembering the (admittedly heathen) names of those three, and we used to say it together as we made the beds when I stayed at her house: “Shake-the-bed, Make-the-bed, and A-bed-we-go!” I still mutter it to myself…

  3. denisemorris said

    I want to watch Psych! I don’t get USA so hopefully they’ll put it on Hulu.

    Umm, THANK YOU for telling me about Tim Riggins. I just found clips. He was also on Regis and Kelly.

  4. denisemorris said

    LGR — hahah! That’s awesome. Focus on the Family has a slide called Abendago. I always thought that was clever too.

  5. Andrew said

    i hadn’t met you yet When you wrote these thoughts.

Leave a Reply

