And All That Is Within Me

February 23, 2012

Sometimes in life you decide, “Hey! I’m going to be a girl who wears nail polish. It will be my thing. I’ll be the nail polish girl.” So, you put on nail polish one day. And then two hours later it has chipped and you decide that nail polish is the worst thing in the history of all the world.

This is just a hypothetical of course.

Gross. Don’t look at my cuticles. My idea of a home manicure is glancing at the emery board and then ignoring it because I don’t want to take the time.

This is seriously all I have to talk about today.

Laura and the Ingalls fam have moved to South Dakota to the shores of Silver Lake. Mary got scarlet fever, and she went blind. So Laura sees everything for her through her words. She’s a good sister. They were staying in a shanty where a bunch of men were building the railroad. Ma was concerned because the girls might hear some “rough language.” Pa made them promise to stay away from the men. “Carrie’s eyes were large and frightened. She did not want to hear rough language, whatever rough language might be. Laura would have liked to hear some, just once, but of course she must obey Pa.”

I like Laura.

I had such a good conversation with my friend Andy  yesterday about the importance of remembering what God has done in the past. And then I went to the Ash Wednesday service at my church, and my pastor talked about the exact same thing — how God tells us over and over to remember and to make sure we don’t forget. Because the second we forget, it’s so much easier to enter into sin. Apparently Psalm 103 is the passage that is usually read during Lent — it’s not a sad or penitent psalm, instead it’s a worshipful one. My pastor told us that this psalm reminds us to bless the Lord and to make sure we do not forget what he’s done. It’s so very beautiful.

Bless the LORD, O my soul, And all that is within me, bless His holy name.
Bless the LORD, O my soul, And forget none of His benefits;
Who pardons all your iniquities, Who heals all your diseases;
Who redeems your life from the pit,
Who crowns you with lovingkindness and compassion;
Who satisfies your years with good things, so that your youth is renewed like the eagle.

You guys, he has redeemed our lives from the pit. Bless the Lord, O my soul.

3 Responses to “And All That Is Within Me”

  1. I love this Psalm! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Anonymous said

    I love the Psalm too.
    I love the nail polish color….even though it chipped. 🙂

Leave a Reply

