Wrinkle-Free Prairie

February 16, 2012

Hi, you guys!

This post is late today because last night I was so tired and it had been such a long day, and I mostly just wanted to complain. So I decided not to blog until I was in a better mood because you hear enough of my whining on a daily basis.

But now I am cheery again because I have finished Little House in the Big Woods and moved on to Little House on the Prairie! (Aren’t you excited that I did decide to blog today?)  Now I did skip reading Farmer Boy, which is the second book that Laura wrote when she started the series. It has nothing to do with the Ingalls family because it’s all about Almanzo (Laura’s husband) and his family when they were little. I’ll probably read it later, but I didn’t want it to interrupt the flow of Laura and their prairie adventures. (Also, did you know that Almanzo is pronounced Al-MAN-zo not Al-MON-zo like they pronounce it on the show? Me neither! I learned it from my Wilder Life book, Jaci.)

Anyhoo, Pa, Ma, Mary, Laura and Carrie have left the tiny house in the big woods of Wisconsin to head to the prairies of Kansas because Pa basically can’t stand to have neighbors within 80 miles of him. He feels crowded. So they “all went away from the little log house. The shutters were over the windows, so the little house could not see them go.” Sad.

They finally make it to Kansas, and they thought they lost Jack the dog in a creek crossing, but he found them, you guys! Also, my mom reminded me of this and then I read it last night. While they are traveling in covered wagon, Ma does the wash and then irons all of their dresses. They are literally not going to see anyone for the next billion years. They are on a prairie filled with gophers and wolves.

If I were traveling across the country in a covered wagon, everyone would be lucky if I brushed my teeth. People are lucky if I brush my teeth now. I literally felt all proud of myself the other day because I sprayed one of my shirts with Downy Wrinkle Release before I hung it up in the closet. I told myself what a good homemaker I was. Again, confirmation that I would not have survived in the olden days.

OK, we can move on, but just remember that I warned you about all the Little House talk you would be enduring.

Here’s a thing that you should do: start watching Happy Endings. They use so many abbrevs and they wear indoor scarves.

Today I have to tutor some poor Hebrew students who have been tricked into thinking I know any Hebrew. I expect a mutiny around the time they take their midterms.

So we’ve been translating the book of Joshua in Hebrew. It’s kind of a tough book because the Israelites go in to take over the land of Canaan and they end up killing a lot of people. There are seven groups of people in Deuteronomy that God commands them to wipe out completely and others that God doesn’t even mention getting rid of (like the Philistines). There are all kinds of comments and interpretations as to what this meant, because even after God tells them to wipe all these people out, he goes on to say that they must not intermarry with them. How can you marry people you’ve totally gotten rid of?

Either way, people died. They went in to Jericho and they devoted the city to the ban, the word “raham,” which means they were set apart completely. Rahab the prostitute was saved because she had hidden Israelite spies and switched her devotion to Yahweh God. It’s a tough but interesting book, and it helps me to continue to realize that I cannot always impose my modern sensibilities on the mindset of the Israelites. Have you guys studied Joshua? What do you think of it?

OK, I’m off to tutoring. I’ll have more Little House updates tomorrow so look forward to that!

4 Responses to “Wrinkle-Free Prairie”

  1. Kristy said

    Last night’s Happy Endings was amazing.

    I’m too tired to comment on anything serious. But Joshua…good book. I think I have one of Dr. Hess’ books JUST about Joshua.

    Also, I’m glad Jack the dog is okay.

  2. denisemorris said

    Kristy, I just love that show. It cracks me up. Yeah, Hess has a Joshua commentary. We’re using it.

    I was so happy Jack the dog was ok. Maybe I almost cried.

  3. kerry said

    I think that the more I realize the importance of understanding the culture and significance of Jesus time, it is imperative I do not impose my modern sensibilities on any of God’s word. To fully grow in the knowledge and wisdom of Christ does mean to think like Him right? I am being challenged more and more to do so. Thank you Denise for your insight and making me aware there is so much more to God’s word than just what the “KJV” has written. 😉

  4. denisemorris said

    Kerry, it does really help to understand how the biblical writers and the people viewed things. It’s so different from what we’re used to, but it helps a lot. God worked within the culture of his people, which is also a cool thing to realize, because it means he can work through our culture as well!

Leave a Reply

