Always and Forever

January 20, 2012

Hi!

I’m sorry I didn’t blog yesterday, but I was so tired. It’s exhausting having to be nice to people all the time, you guys. I don’t do it very often, you know.

So this seems to be what Ohio looks like pretty much all the time. Apparently it was 70 in Colorado yesterday.

We’ve spoken on the problem of evil to the Cedarville University student body the last two days. It’s been great. We’ve gotten to speak in chapel, and hang out with lots of people. The problem of evil is a difficult topic, but Axis does such a good job with breaking it down and making it understandable. There have been three of us speaking, and we switch it up a lot. No one speaks for more than 3-5 minutes at a time, and we use lots of media clips to keep it fast-paced and interesting. It’s been such an honor to speak here and get to know the faculty, staff and students here.

This is part of the Cedarville chapel. I should’ve taken a picture with some students in it, but I’m not good with the thinking ahead.

I’m realizing how much I love college, you guys. I love being on campus, I love teaching, I love chatting with students. It makes me really want to be a professor. But I’m hoping someone will just give me a doctorate or something, because I really don’t feel like doing more school. Can I just buy a diploma somewhere?

One thing I don’t love quite as much is the cafeteria food. Chuck’s Cafeteria (or Upchucks if you want to go with the clever), is fine, but fairly typical. I’m also reminded why freshmen gain weight because you have about 90,000 options for every single meal. Do I want pizza or pasta or salad or ice cream or a burger. Or all of them? I’ve been sticking with salads, but I’ve also fallen prey to the grilled cheese. (Aren’t you so glad I’m blogging again so that you can stay updated on what I’m eating? You are welcome.)

I’m so behind with this week’s media! No Bachelor, Parenthood, Parks and Rec! Sharing the gospel is really getting in the way of my TV watching. Which is a very convicting realization.

Yesterday I was speaking on evil and talking about how God could have made us robots, but he didn’t. He gave us the choice of choosing to love him, and robots can be programmed, but they can’t love. While I was speaking, I asked Siri on my iPhone if she loved me. She responded to me and the entire Cedarville audience that she wasn’t capable of love. But, you guys, even if my technology doesn’t love me, I do love it. Always and forever.

Umm, I just realized as I finished this post that today is Friday. I am so mixed up this week. So, apparently no Friday Listday. I’ll make it a super good one next week.

Have the bestest weekend, friends!

5 Responses to “Always and Forever”

  1. Thanks Denise for coming to campus! =] praying for you and they team to touch hearts of the high schoolers coming in this weekend. And their college small group leaders as well. I hope you enjoyed your stay at Cedarville!

  2. kerry said

    Funny thing about this post, I thought of Napolean Wednesday when you said you went to a chicken farm! I wanted to ask you if you got paid “like a dollar an hour” and ate nasty egg salad. I just didn’t think you would have seen the movie. It just makes me so happy to myself to know you have. Next time you visit, you must see my husbands picture when he was Napoleans age. Spitting image, no lie.

  3. denisemorris said

    R24 — thanks so much for having us! We’re loving Cedarville!

    Kerry — I LOVE Napoleon Dynamite! It’s one of my faves. Also, it makes me so happy that your husband looked like Napoleon. Best news of the day.

  4. Thank you so much for coming to Cedarville. I’m a sophomore at Cedarville University studying music. I was also a group leader for the Leadership Conference. It was so awesome to see Axis like all the time last week! Thanks so much for your wonderful message. I love your blog by the way. You should check out mine sometime: http://kimberlyreitsma.blog.com
    God Bless!
    Kimberly

  5. denisemorris said

    Hi, Kimberly! It was so great being at Cedarville! I honestly loved it! I will definitely check out your blog!

Leave a Reply

