Poultry Party

January 18, 2012

I’m so tired you guys, so this is going to have to be short.

I would love it if you would pray for us today and tomorrow. We’re speaking to more than 3,000 people at Cedarville’s chapel, and we’ll be talking about the problem of evil. So, lots of people and a super difficult topic. Pray that we’d speak clearly, that the students would be interested, and that God would be glorified. OK, thanks!

Cedarville is the tiniest town, you guys. It’s pretty much just made up of the school. And a small hotel. The fancy new addition in town is a Subway. The campus is pretty amazing, though, and I’m excited to be here.

Finally, I would like you to know that I toured a poultry processing plant yesterday. For reals.

So many chickens, you guys. It’s crazy how fast they move through that place — from being trucked in to being packaged is just a matter of a few hours. Also, cutting breast meat from the bone takes some skillz. The plant was not as smelly as I thought it would be — it was actually surprisingly clean in there. I saw a lot of chicken feet. Which reminded me of Dim Sum and how one time I was out to eat with my family and my brother kept eating them in front of me while I tried not to barf. The tour was fascinating — there’s such a process to it and so many fancy machines. I felt a little sad for the chickens, but not that sad because I do like chicken. And they kill them so quickly and they calm them before they do it so that it’s a painless process. Also, chickens that are plucked look very naked and cold. Those are my fascinating observations. You’re welcome.

OK, I’m sorry for this wuss post. If you forgive me, I promise I’ll write you a nice note sometime soon. Shalom, y’all!

5 Responses to “Poultry Party”

  1. Rachel said

    Have fun at Cedarville! I did undergrad there and it’s a fantastic place!

  2. lyddiebee said

    I don’t know if I could eat chicken again after touring a processing plant. You are so VERY brave. I feel bad when I think about a little guys life ending for my tummy. Yet I still eat chicken and turkey and sometimes red meat (although not very often). Which reminds me of a story…I’m going to force you to read. This one time when I lived in St. Cloud, my friend was very against animals being butchered and was a die hard Vegetarian. Golden Plump is in St. Cloud and they brought a bunch of their chickens and baby chicks to the Stearns County Fair. My friend with a bleeding heart for living creatures, stole a baby chic in an act of rebellion to save its life. She rescued it from the throngs of death and wanted it to have a worry free natural long chicken life. So the funny and sort of sad part is…apparently chickens (baby chicks) are pretty loud to keep in your house as a pet. And she could not get any sleep ever. And the thing ate ALL the time. So after about 2 days or 3 days of rescuing it. She called me up to be her accomplice to bring it back to the fair. So she made this really heroic gesture to rescue the chicken and give it a long life without fear of being dead meat someday and then it annoyed her so much she brought it back. We were so worried we were going to get caught bringing the chicken back but it all worked out and the baby chick went back to its heat lamp home with the other 30 baby chicks. Imagine the adventure he had to tell his chick friends…anyways.. that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

  3. bcpaine said

    Just so you know, whatever you do, DON’T eat at the Cedarville Subway. you’ll smell like Knox gelatin for weeks. You’ll probably have to burn your clothes. Beans and Cream and Mom and Dad’s are much better options.

  4. Kerry Wester said

    I am pretty sure calming them is much nicer than just sticking their heads between 2 nails and chopping off their heads then letting them run around. Not that I would know. And naked chickens are really ugly. I think God was so smart to put feathers on them.

  5. Ginna said

    That picture of you in your plant-touring garb KILLS ME. Cannot wait to see your jovely face this weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

