Buckeye Bonding

January 16, 2012

Hi, my darlings.

First, an update. Mike, the guy I asked you to pray for on Friday, passed away this weekend. Please continue your prayers for his family. I’m so thankful he had recognized his need for Jesus’ sacrifice in his life.

In other news, I just wanted to let you know that I am in the great state of Ohio right now. It is a tad chilly here. I’m gone all this week on a speaking trip with Axis. Axis is a non-profit that was started by my friends David and Jeremiah. The Axis teams go around the country speaking to people about worldview and media. They open people’s eyes to the gospel of Jesus and the importance of consistent thinking so that we are consistent doers. I am so proud of Axis and all they do, and I’m honored to be on their board and be able to speak with them sometimes. If you guys have any connections with your churches or Christian high schools or colleges in your area, you should definitely check out the Axis website and consider having a team out. (International readers, this goes for you as well! Just make sure you demand that I get to come along on the trip so I can visit you.)

We’re speaking at a couple of Cedarville University’s chapels this week and we’ll also be speaking at a youth leadership conference later in the week. I suppose I should learn some parts so that I know what I’m supposed to say. Or maybe I’ll just wing it in front of the entire student body of Cedarville. We’ll see.

Cedarville, is this your chapel? It looks large. I'm scerd.

So in case you hadn’t heard, the Broncos lost by a teeny, tiny little margin the other night. So, the season is over. We’ll recover. Did you all see the awesome commercial Focus on the Family broadcast during the second quarter? So many people got to hear about the gift of salvation that Jesus offers to us.

Finally, I’m reading The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. I’m on a Sherlock Holmes rampage, you guys. I’m soaking it up. He’s just so clever and good at noticing things. You know why I like it? Because I love Psych. And Shawn and Gus are just a modern-day Holmes and Watson. Of course I’d love old Sherlock.

OK, I best be going. Because of my weird schedule this week, the bloggy may be off a bit. I’ll try my best, but just cut me some slack, OK? The state of Ohio has need of my skillz. Also, they couldn’t get anyone else to come.

Happy MLK day, folks!

Love you lots!

7 Responses to “Buckeye Bonding”

  1. Clarissa said

    You must eat a buckeye while you are there, with a nice cup of joe 🙂

  2. Carol H said

    I agree the state of Ohio needs your skilz have fun while you are there… I don’t know how that is possible in Ohio during the winter, but as an Ohio native I say good luck.

  3. Amanda said

    Say hi to my alma mater for me! And yes, that chapel hold about 3000 students and faculty, plus I think they have satellite rooms for overflow. And on the subject of Sherlock Holmes, have you seen Masterpiece Mystery’s modern-day adaptation called Sherlock? Good stuff! The guy cast as Bilbo Baggins in The Hobbit plays Watson.

  4. denisemorris said

    Amanda — yes! I love Sherlock. So good.

  5. lyddiebee said

    Sorry to hear about your friend!

  6. bcpaine said

    Have fun at Cedarville for me. And yes, that’s the chapel. Say hi to all my yellow jacket friends and lunch in the PDR.

  7. t said

    If you’re in oHIo, I fully EXPECT you to visit the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Fully expect.
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

