Stop, Thief!

January 11, 2012

Is it stop, thief or stop thief? It’s with a comma, right? You’re calling out to the thief, yes? I’m confused. Don’t judge me and my commas, OK?

Yesterday I tried to go to the Target by my house but when I got there, police cars were everywhere and the whole building was taped off with that yellow police tape that informs you that someone has been murdered! Is it bad that I just mostly felt annoyed that my Target was inaccessible and less worried about the possibly murdered person inside? After writing that out, I realize that yes that is bad.

There were even news vans outside the store, so I knew this was a big deal. Luckily I have an iPhone so I immediately looked up the news and discovered that no one was murdered but people had been shoplifting  video game systems from Target. Apparently these thieves had been casing Targets in the Denver area. They ran out of the store with their loot, sprayed a bunch of pepper spray, and they got away! The store had to be evacuated because of all the pepper spray residue. So, be on the lookout for three thieves playing video games. They’re driving a Kia with Florida plates. Dummies.

Can you think of a worse tragedy than your very own Target being shut down? Me neither. So, I drove over to Highlands Ranch to their Target. Now, Highlands Ranch is where all the rich people live, and their Target shows it. It was fancier than mine. The aisles were wider, the lighting was warmer, the vegetables were fresher. I’m not sure if any of that’s true, but it felt like it. Also, guess what I found?!?!?!

Target has teacup piglets, you guys! My friend Lindsay had informed me of this magical miracle, but now I saw it for myself. Here’s what’s puzzling: they’re on clearance. How are they not the most popular toy in the store? How did those Target thieves miss these babies on their shoplifting spree?

I almost got one, but then I realized that it talked. You could push its nose and it would say things like “hi, best friend!” Now, wouldn’t mind having a talking teacup piglet, but I felt that if I bought it I might be teased even more mercilessly than I already am. However, even if I don’t have a teacup piglet toy, I do have a 2012 teacup piglet calendar from Micah!

January is rodeo month, y’all!

So after all the Target adventures, I went to the gym. Then my friend Courtney and I had dinner and watched Parenthood. For the first time in forty years, it didn’t make me cry, you guys! I did get close when Adam and Crosby made up, though. Brothers.

I was reading Exodus yesterday and God was giving instructions for the building of the tabernacle and for all the priestly garments that were to be made. There was gold plating and fine linens and weaving and carving to be done. In Exodus 31, God says that he has chosen Bezalel to make artistic designs, to cut stone and work with wood. Bezalel was filled with the Holy Spirit and given wisdom and understanding specifically for these tasks. All of the workers who would assist him were given skills by God as well. This was fascinating to me because  in the Old Testament, not everyone was filled with the Holy Spirit like all believers are today. The Spirit came upon certain people — usually “big name” people like Saul or David or Elijah for certain times and tasks. God thought the artistic work of the tabernacle and priestly garments was so important that he sent his Spirit to fill Bezalel. Bezalel was one of the chosen few who was filled with the Holy Spirit for the his artistic tasks.

Not only does this confirm that God can use our skills and gifts and artistic abilities for his glory, but that he sometimes fills us for just that purpose. Kind of awesome.

Well, I best be off. I bet you’re really glad you stuck around for this post — Target and teacup piglets and tabernacle. These are the things that keep me going. Thanks for visiting!

8 Responses to “Stop, Thief!”

  1. Becca said

    Haha! I almost wrote you when Parenthood ended last night (given I’m an hour ahead) to say you probably won’t cry this week but you might tear up on the last scene. I would have been right! 🙂

  2. Micah said

    I think it’s Stop! Thief! Haha. I don’t know. Why didn’t you buy a tiny little talking teacup piglet?!?! I’ll buy you one.

  3. denisemorris said

    Becca! That’s awesome! Ha!

    Micah, you are probably totally right! I didn’t even think of all the exclamation points I could’ve used.

  4. Kristy said

    The comma is correct. You could also go Micah’s route, which would show more tone of voice. 😉

    Also, I think you should get a teacup piglet. It wouldn’t be weird at all.

    And also, I used that Exodus passage in a paper I wrote for Evangelical Theology once. 🙂

  5. Lydia said

    I seem to recall seeing a video you posted showing off your singing Toby Mac toothbrush (or something along those lines). How is a talking teacup piglet any different? And how can you deprive all your fans of seeing you via video interacting with your bestie, the talking teacup piglet. 😉

  6. denisemorris said

    Kristy — I love that passage now! I want to read your paper.

    Lydia — you make a good point! The Toby toothbrush was a gift. I still have it! I should use it today.

  7. Clarissa said

    Medora actually has one of those terrible teacup pigs. Someone gave it to her. It wears a purple sparkle skirt and says things when you push it’s spout. Like, “Let’s go shopping.” And, “LOL.”. Yes. It says LOL. That is just plain wrong.

  8. denisemorris said

    Clair!!! Medora and I are kindreds. I already know it. That pig sounds kind of awful, though. I hate LOL. Hate. Tell Medora to come visit me.

Leave a Reply

