Blessed and Honored — Or Not So Much

January 5, 2012

First of all, I would like to say that sometimes it is hard to write you a post when my legs are so sore from resolutioning. I’m not sure why sore legs makes it difficult to blog, but it just does. So consider yourselves blessed and honored to have a post to read today.

Siri made an appointment for me on my iPhone calendar yesterday. She did it because I was driving and I’m much too much of a law follower to type whilst driving … now that I have Siri.

I ate salads and oatmeal and Cheerios yesterday. And Heather and I went to the gym to do a spinning class, but it was full. (I was secretly a tiny bit relieved because I’ve never done a spinning class because they frighten me. People wear padded pants and special cycling shoes and they come out looking like they’ve spent the last hour climbing a mountain in a sauna.) So instead of spinning, I did the stair master (evil), and then I did the elliptical while watching Toddlers and Tiaras.

OK, you can feel less blessed and honored now.

Also, what kind of crazy moms want to go on Toddlers and Tiara so that all of America can see them be crazy? They know they’re going to be criticized for what they do to their babies, right? No one looks at them with admiration. No one sees an episode of Toddlers and Tiaras and aspires to be these crazy mothers who make their 6-month olds spray tan and their 2-year-olds wear false eyelashes, right? Right???

Heather and I got these for Christmas. (Except ours have an “h” and a “d” in case you were wondering.) I love them. They’re cute and from Anthropologie (so automatically wonderful), and they help us practice our letters.

Today I get to spend some time Being a Writer with my friend Suzanne. I’m not sure what that means, but for me it usually involves browsing Pinterest and Facebook because I’m not very good with the getting to work.

Ok, I’m going to go now because the sore legs have clearly affected my ability to think and put sentences together and talk about things other than Toddlers and Tiaras. But I like this. You should read it.

With all your heart. With all your soul. With all your very.

Byesies!

5 Responses to “Blessed and Honored — Or Not So Much”

  1. Kerry Wester said

    Denise I have been “pondering” Deut. 6:1-5 and especially 5 all week. Jon Piper said in his book 50 Reasons why Jesus came to die, after quoting verse 5, “we have all loved other things more. This is what sin is, dishonoring God by preferring other things over him and acting on those preferences. Then he quotes Rom. 3:23 and goes on to say, “We glorify what we enjoy most. And it isn’t God.”. It makes my heart hurt to know he is right. Funny you should share those verses because this year that is what I want to make my New Years resolution.

  2. denisemorris said

    Kerry, that is really interesting. We have loved other things more — especially our pride. I notice it in myself all the time. I love other things more than God. I do. It is only by his grace that I can love him at all. Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!

  3. Rebekah Largent said

    I’ve never watched Toddlers & Tiaras, so I can’t say too much, but the whole premise makes me ill. I know enough about stage moms to know they can be rabid, obnoxious, and bull-headed. I can’t imagine how much of these kids’ innocence and childhood are being stolen. And it makes me sad to know that, even though the show is exposing these moms for what they are, it still promotes it in a way. Poor babies.

  4. Rebekah Largent said

    And by the way, those are probably just about the cutest mugs EVER.

  5. denisemorris said

    Yeah, Rebekah, it’s gross. I couldn’t believe the stuff they were doing to these kids and how the moms were acting. It was insane.

Leave a Reply

