Deep Thoughts: I’m Feeling Burpee

January 3, 2012

Well, hi!

Me and all the other fatties were at the gym last night resolutioning. Actually, I just had such a weird schedule last semester that it was hard to make it to my kickboxing classes. But this semester will be better. I am on it. Last night at kickboxing we did literally 40 million burpees. Have you ever done one? This is what it looks like.

They are the actual worst. Ever. And we kept doing them. Over and over again. In case you were wondering, I do not jump up quite as enthusiastically as that guy when I’m doing my burpees. I like to keep it cool, calm and collected. As in, I like to lay down on the floor and stay there until everyone else is done with their burpees.

I’ve been very stressed lately, you guys. I had to get a new case for my iPhone and there are so many choices. Etsy has lots of darling ones. As does Society 6. It took days. I’m very worn out and who knows if I even made the right decision?! I decided on this one. Thoughts?

My very stressful issue with choosing an iPhone case reminded me that 1) most of my problems are about that trivial and 2) we have too many options in our society. We’re a culture that can choose from so many things and it often ends up paralyzing us. Whether it’s choosing a shampoo or a career or a spouse, it feels like the whole world is open to us, which makes it hard to settle with one thing. Scrolling through pages of phone cases on Etsy and scrolling through lists of people on eHarmony become eerily similar. Sometimes fewer choices makes things so much simpler. I wonder if the luxury we have as Americans with lots of options may not always be the best thing. Deep Thoughts by Denise Morris.

In other news, they recently added Portlandia to Netflix. Have you all seen it? Sometimes it’s weird, but some of the skits kill me. Ahh, awareness, how we love thee. Do not tie your dog up outside, you guys. It’s cruel.

In case you stumbled upon this blog looking for something useful, I suggest going over to this other blog and checking out some devotionals that you might want to read this year. Or read my friend Becca’s blog — she writes beautifully and always has something meaningful to say. (She posts fewer burpee videos.) And check out my friend Jeff’s new blog. He’s gone insane and decided to lose a ton of weight this year and run a marathon. It’s awesome.

OK, I’ve got to get to the gym (because it’s only January 3 and I need to keep resolutioning until the end of the week), and I’ve got so much work to do. I hope you just have a really good day. Loves!

4 Responses to “Deep Thoughts: I’m Feeling Burpee”

  1. Kerry Wester said

    To solve your choice in husbands, you could do like many other cultures do and let your parents chose. Who knows you better and knows what is best for you better than your mother?

  2. denisemorris said

    Oh, but Kerry, I can’t live in Deer River…

  3. Becca said

    I like “Deep Thoughts with Denise Morris” time. I had the same problem trying to find a laptop case. So many choices on Etsy, Amazon, and on and on…

  4. […] I’m going to be done now. My body is sore from all the resolutioning and burpees and lack of chips and chocolate. Have a good day and stay classy. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", […]

Leave a Reply

