Speaking Easy

January 2, 2012

Oh, my friends! How are you, even?!

I took all of last week off. You probably didn’t notice. I spent the time traipsing around northern Minnesota among all the weirdos who were sad that it was not ninety million below zero. Because you need snow and ice for snowmobiling and ice fishing and cross country skiing, and Minnesota was sunny and around forty degrees on Christmas day. Poor babies.

While “up north” I got to see old friends and it was so fun! I got have lunch with my former youth pastor and his sweet family (Hi, Debbie Kay! We loved the Yellow Umbrella!). I got to see my sweet college friend, Katie. We lived on the same floor freshman year. She had moved to the cities from about six hours north of St. Paul, and I had moved there from about 10 miles away. I was super homesick (it took a literal 12 minutes to get home) and I cried every day. Katie was strong and brave and she saw that I was pathetic and weird. But she brought me Oreos and a card and promised to be my friend. She has kept her promise.

My mom and I also got to have high tea and scones at Lady Wester’s Parlor Of Cohasset. It was a lovely and very classy time. Our hostess even wore a Mr. Cinch because she is darling and much trendier than most people up north. So good to see you, Kerry!

I’m back in Colorado now, and I arrived just in time for New Year’s Eve. Kristy and I threw a Roaring Twenties party and it was so fun! All of our friends dressed up as flappers and gangsters and the whole shindig was just the bee’s knees. Here are some highlights in pictorial essay form:

We went with a speakeasy nightclub feel.

Flappers and gangsters from all over town showed up.

The whole night was just the cat’s pajamas. The fuzz didn’t even raid our party!

So, did you know that I don’t have class until the end of January?! What will I do with all the free time? Mainly I’ll be working because I didn’t get much/any work done on my curriculum revisions while I was in Minnesota. Don’t worry bosses — it’s all totally under control and such! So, I’ll be working. And I’m going on a speaking trip with Axis later in the month. We’ll be heading out to the exciting state of Ohio!

Oh, I also want to do a bunch of reading this month. I finished The Hunger Games series. It was so fascinating, you guys. Let’s talk about it night and day. Old Katniss and Peeta and Gale. They’ve been through some hardships. Anyway, I’m lost and bookless now, so please recommend some things for me to read.

Also, you should come over for dinner. I will make you some soup. Let me know if you can make it.

Have a good Monday, you guys! So glad we get to be friends again.

13 Responses to “Speaking Easy”

  1. Clarissa said

    Your bloggy is back! So fun, I missed it! Poor Minnesotans, no snow on Christmas. *sigh*. Ghastly really. Where will you be in Ohio? I just drove through there on the way to and from NY. Ummm, pretty much the only book I read this year was The Help, which was hilarious. Glad your back!!! I love soup 🙂

  2. laura said

    Yay! Glad you liked those Hunger Games. Isn’t Peeta so great? Have you read Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys? Recommend! (I might be biased though, because the main characters are Lithuanian).
    Where in Ohio? We live like 10 seconds away from the border! I don’t have any classes until the 16th so you should come visit when you’re in the neighborhood!

  3. I actually do miss your thoughts! Glad you’re back!

    And glad we’re friends again! 🙂

    http://www.jonyshuk.weebly.com

  4. denisemorris said

    Clair, why NY? I loved The Help! Did you see the movie?

    Laura: I’ll be at a speaking trip at Cedarville University. Is that anywhere near you? I’ve not read Between Shades of Grey. I’m putting it on the list!

    Joel: Thanks for reading!!

  5. clarissasparkman said

    My brother, David, and his wife, Nadi, live there now. It was good times visiting!

  6. laura said

    It’s 4 and half hours away. Perhaps next time you’re in Pittsburgh though!

  7. Steve Cross said

    Will you be at Sean’s wedding later this month? That sounds weird to say. We would love for you to meet Gwyneth. Also, I am currently reading the Wrinkle in Time series by Madeline L’Engle and I have really enjoyed it so far. I’m only a little ways into the second book so don’t hate me if it falls apart after that.

  8. denisemorris said

    Stevie — yes I will be there! I can’t wait to see you guys! I’m super excited. I read those Madeline L’Engle books a couple years ago. They’re really fun!

  9. kerry said

    I am so glad you came. I think your mom and I should come for soup but please, no figs. I wore Mr. Cinch out in public. Cindy was totally onto me. She thinks I was just trying to impress you. I think she is just jealous because she is not as trendy as I.

  10. denisemorris said

    Your Mr. Cinch looked darling! I’m so glad you went for it!

  11. In addition to the Book Thief and Unbroken, you should read Bossy Pants by Tina Fey and Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling. We listened to both on audiobook, and they were fun.

  12. t said

    I noticed. Glad you had fun, and glad(der) that you’re back!

  13. denisemorris said

    Thanks, T!

Leave a Reply

