Thwarting Theology

December 12, 2011

You guys.

I HAVE A FINAL EXAM TONIGHT. I’ve studied for a total of 45 minutes so far. It’s gonna be a bad week. A bad, bad week.

I am reluctant to say that I am not sick anymore, because I still sound like Darth Vader when I breathe. But, in spite of the fact that people keep asking me to tell Luke that I am his dad, I am breathing ten times better than I was last week. It’s progress, folks.

I should have all kinds of nice theological things to talk about since I have a theology final tonight. But in case you didn’t pay attention to the all caps above, I have not done much with the studying. But by tonight by 6:30, I should know a ton about conversion and regeneration and sanctification and eschatology. Tons.

This weekend I spent some time Christmas tradition-ing with my besties from the Springs. We went to Chili’s for dinner because for some awful reason, that is part of our tradition. We got some queso and some molten, and, as expected, the waiter messed up the order at least twice.

Then we went and saw the new movie New Year’s Eve. Unfortunately, it wasn’t until after we saw it that I went to Rotten Tomatoes and saw that it had a rating of 7 percent. The reviewers were generous.

It was so boring and corny. There are 90 million celebrities in it, so the most entertaining part is recognizing people. But there are so many plots and you don’t care about any of them, and there are all kinds of speeches that are supposed to be Inspirational and Heart Warming, but they are not. No, they are not. I was pleasantly surprised by how clean it was, but other than that, it was pretty awful.

We made up for the bad movie by going to visit the Broadmoor. The Broadmoor is a super fancy hotel in Colorado Springs. The rich and famous stay there. We do not belong. But we like to pretend. The Broadmoor at Christmas is magical.

We walked around and looked at lights and the amazing gingerbread houses on display. We got a drink and tried to take a nice picture in front of a pretty tree. It was lovely.

After that, I was super worn out because of the Illness of 2011 and all. So I stayed at my friend Ashley’s house. I set my alarm for 8 a.m. so that I could jump on up, drive back to Denver and get to studying. Instead I got up the next morning at 10:50. It was all downhill from there.

So, now it’s Monday and I’ve got a lot of theology to learn! Have a super awesome day! I’ll see ya tomorrow (unless I die of test failing).

2 Responses to “Thwarting Theology”

  1. Suzanne said

    Thanks for the warning on the movie! It looked super-cute. But corny and boring are not cute! I appreciate the heads up.

  2. t said

    So, who do you think Darth Vader says he sounds like when he’s sick?

Leave a Reply

