Blog 9 3/4

December 7, 2011

OK, I have to feel better today, you guys. There are things to do and I’ve got to get going. Someone bring me a sudafed.

So the other night I finished the sixth Harry Potter book. I’ve read them all before, but they’re so great that I like to go through them again every once in awhile. After I finished, I picked up book seven and read the last chapter. (I’m speaking in very general terms because I don’t want to give anything away in case you are very behind at being awesome and haven’t read the books yet.)

Each time I read the books, I am more and more impressed with J.K. Rowling. She is brilliant (said with an English accent). She knew what she was doing with that series the entire time. After I read the last chapter of book seven, I went back and looked at the end of book four. Yep, a clue to the whole series. Sitting right there. Waiting to be discovered. Rowling was on it.

Some people hate the Harry Potter series on account of how they’re Satan’s favorite books. But there are such redemptive, Christian themes in this series. Just like Narnia, just like Pilgrim’s Progress. I think part of the reason I love Harry Potter is because — like Narnia or LOST — it tells a detailed, beautiful story. There are things to figure out, clues along the way, an ultimate plan and purpose. It’s like we talked about last week; story is powerful.

The themes of sacrifice and redemption in Harry Potter or any other good series remind me of the One True Story. God’s story. It reminds us of how we sometimes have to choose between what is right and what is easy (Albus Dumbledore) or how the last enemy to be defeated is death.

This guy puts it well (spoilers about the Harry Potter series, so don’t watch it if you plan to read the books!).

Good stuff. So yes, after all this time, I still love Harry Potter. Always.

Sorry if you’ve never read HP and had to read this post. You were probably very bored. Maybe this little guy will make amends?

OK, have a good Wednesday. Read Harry Potter. Read God’s Story. Eat some Bertie Botts Every Flavor Beans. Say hi to Dumbledore for me. Steer clear of Snape. Find a golden snitch. Free a house elf. … I’ve got to stop … Visit Zonko’s. … Seriously, I have to go. … Accio end of blog post!

11 Responses to “Blog 9 3/4”

  1. Rebekah Largent said

    Ack! I love Harry Potter too. So much. I think I’ve read through the series four times now (some books more than that). Did you know they plan to open Hogwarts at Universal in California? So now there will be two options for going to it….:)

  2. So true.. especially what the guy said. I too, love rereading the books.

  3. Brandy said

    Of course I have to echo the fact that HP is the epitome of awesomeness! And I cannot understand the people who hate the series! (Most of them have never read any of the books.) There are amazing themes and it’s such a beautiful picture of friendship and sacrifice. Love, Love, Love it. Hey, did you hear recently that JK had considered killing off Ron?? Can you imagine? Is that a spoiler? Ooops. Sorry, Denise. For people who haven’t read the series, Ron may or may not die. Don’t listen to me.

  4. denisemorris said

    hahah! I had heard that, Brandy! That would’ve been awful!

  5. Jessica said

    Denise, you’ve inspired me to go read all the HP books again. And thanks for posting that video; a great explanation of the redemptive themes throughout the series. Harry Potter haters don’t know what they’re missing!

  6. Julie Abel said

    These stories are truly special. So many amazing memories built around them reading them to my kids! While I don’t like the movies as much, they still are great eye candy. One of my favorite lines from the Half Blood Price…”But I AM the chosen one.” ~Harry Thanks for the video Denise. It was awesomeness.

  7. Eva Joy said

    I’m half way through the sixth book (yes, I am very behind in being awesome, but I have known that ever since Emily Lundberg walked in on me cross-stitching in the cabin by myself during free time at winter camp in Jr. High…..) and I. Am. LOV.ING. it. Love. And I don’t even know what surprises lay in store for me, but according to everyone who talks vaguely about the end of the last book, there are some great things in store for me.

    So excited!!!

  8. t said

    As of yet i am not awesome (like C and 2 of our kids), but i might get around to it someday.

    And i can only assume that your British “brilliant” was in the tone of Tennant, right?

  9. denisemorris said

    T, join the awesome. It’s brilliant!

  10. Jacqueline said

    Harry Potter is amazing; I too love re-reading the books over and over.
    Your blog is really interesting too, I love reading it.

  11. denisemorris said

    Thanks, Jacqueline!

Leave a Reply

