Sickly Times

December 6, 2011

Y’all, I’m sick again. This time I have a cold — sore throat, head aching, sneezing, etc. I’m pretty sure I’m down for the count until spring. Basically, if I get sick once any time during the winter, my body lets down all its barriers and invites all viruses on in for a party. Wuss.

I spent most of yesterday feeling guilty about how I needed to be at school, but I couldn’t get going because my head felt like it was going to explode. The guilt overwhelmed me as I sat on the couch shivering and watching The Fugitive, because that is apparently the highlight of daytime TV. Let me tell you what; poor Harrison Ford was innocent, and that ruthless Tommy Lee Jones was in the wrong, you guys.

I finally made it to school, mainly because I had a paper due. I turned it in, sat through half of a class, and then went home because of all the Kleenex  and sinus pressures and hallucinations.

My theology professor was talking about eschatology (the end times) last night, and all I could think about was how badly my head hurt and how it was a literal four degrees outside, and how finals week is around the corner. So yes, it probably is the end times. I can think of no greater tribulation.

I hope you all know that I never exaggerate.

If you’re looking for something at all useful to read, I suggest heading over to the Boundless blog. I wrote a post yesterday, and there are lots of other great bloggers who have more to talk about than which flavor of Airborne they prefer (grapefruit).

I also suggest watching this video by Matisyahu. Who is Matisyahu, you ask? Well, he’s a Hasidic Jewish rapper of course. This video will get you in the Hanukkah spirit.

OK, that’s it. I’m going to blow my nose. Have a great day!

8 Responses to “Sickly Times”

  1. Angie said

    What did your professor have to say about his thoughts on eschatology? Does he think now is “the end times”??

  2. denisemorris said

    Hi, Angie! I didn’t stay for the whole class, so I’m not sure. However, he did seem to think that Jesus’ return is right around the corner. He sees the signs. I’m not sure I fully agree with him, though. I think all the professors at my school have slightly different views on it.

  3. Angie said

    Thanks for the quick response! My views on eschatology have been challenged a lot lately, and I guess I’m not so sure what I believe anymore!

  4. denisemorris said

    Angie, how have they been challenged? I’m not sure what I think either. We’ll be talking about Revelation in my New Testament class this Thursday — maybe I’ll blog about it!

  5. Angie said

    Well, I was raised with in a Baptist church with a lot of fire and brimstone. Very “Left Behind” -esque. I have struggled with some of these beliefs for a while, because they seem to foster a bunker-down-and-wait-for-His-return mentality, which I don’t see as Biblical. Lately, I have been thinking about how in Jesus’ time, many eyewitnesses didn’t recognize Him for who He was until long after He had left the earth. I fear that the signs of His return may be all around us, yet I will somehow miss them. I guess I struggle to live in the present with seeming uncertainty about the future, even if I do know the very end of the story.

  6. denisemorris said

    Yeah, that totally makes sense. I grew up with Left Behind too. 🙂 I think there’s an “already not yet” component to life. We wait, but we also recognize that Jesus brought the kingdom — the end of the age has started with his coming. It’s kind of a weird tension. I’ll pay close attention on Thursday and let you know what we discuss!

  7. Lydia said

    I love grapefruit airborne…its the best. FYI: Target (if you have that in CO) makes a nice substitute (wild berry). Its not grapefruit…but it tastes and smells like raspberry jello and is half the price.

  8. Per Wiederholt said

    Denise,
    Sorry you are feelin’ pewny again. Thanks for the video! I’m going to play that at work, Family Life Services, tomorrow. I’m sure Julie has already heard it but none of the other staff probably have. It’s awesome!
    Festive Hanakah to you.

Leave a Reply

