A List of Happy

December 2, 2011

Today’s Friday list is brought to you by “Things That Made Me Happy This Week.”

1. Today is my dad’s birthday! Happy birthday, Dad! You can call him Charles in Charge, if you like. It’s what all the cool kids do. He really loves it when you call him that. Anyway, it makes me happy that it’s his birthday because I got him a pretty good gift, and I get to partake in it too. Win, win.

2. I started listening to my Christmas mix this week! Who isn’t happy when listening to Mariah Carey sing “Silent Night”? My very favorite Christmas album is by Phil Driscoll. Remember him? No? He’s a balding trumpet player. But my family listened to his Christmas album (literally record album) every year when I was little, so even though he has kind of an odd voice, it always brings back fond memories.

3. This video made me happy this week. It’s Michael Tait and the Newsboys performing “Jesus Freak.” But guess who shows up to bring a little hip-hop action to the show?!

 

I’m having a bit of dc talk nostalgia this week. I listened to all of the Free at Last album as I got ready yesterday. And I watched their old video for the song “I Luv Rap Music.” Kills me.

 

 

4. The ABC show Happy Endings makes me happy. Have you guys seen it? It’s so random and quirky but it makes me laugh every time I see it. They talk about boxing mice. The brown one is named “Mice Tyson.”

5. This picture. Joy.

6. I completed a piece of writing I’d been working on, and I loved the process and the finished piece. Writing is weird. Sometimes you do it a lot, but only because you have to, or because you’re supposed to, or because you’re saying what you’ve been hired to say. But this was something I enjoyed. It was fun.

7. Yesterday in my New Testament class, we talked about the book of Hebrews. I was reminded of this in Hebrews 4:

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet was without sin. Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

You guys. Jesus was tempted in every way. All of the things we struggle with — all of our temptations, burdens, fears, trials — Jesus understands. He did not succumb to the temptation like we do, but he was tempted. That is huge. It means, as that verse says, that we can go before Him knowing we’ll find mercy and grace to get us through. He’ll listen. He’ll comfort. He’ll sympathize. He’ll forgive. It just blows me away. The grace of our God. We pray Lord, have mercy. And he will.

Happy.

Have a good weekend, friends! Notice little blessings, little happies. Be grateful for our Jesus; he loves us so much.

7 Responses to “A List of Happy”

  1. Becca said

    I like your #6 the best. Good.

  2. Jaci said

    Know what made me happy this week, Denise? Your blog posts. They make me laugh.

  3. Jaci said

    Oh, and they’re nice and spiritual and scholarly too.

  4. Lydia said

    I bet the only way you could be happier wih Mariah Carey and Silent Night is if you stumbled across a karaoke recording booth and recorded a tape of you and someone equally as awesome slaughtering the song and then you listened to it over and over again….;-)

  5. denisemorris said

    hahahah! So true, Lydia. 🙂

  6. t said

    Your post.

    You forgot to mention your post in the list of things that brought happy.

    =)

  7. Michael said

    Speaking of Mariah Carey, something that makes me happy is her version of “O Holy Night”….in chipmunk voices. Of course, pretty much anything in Chipmunk is bound to bring the happy.

Leave a Reply

