This Post Is for the Birds

November 17, 2011

Have you guys seen this video? If not, please watch it right now. Not kidding. Watch it. It’s very cool. Like awesomely, mind-blowingly cool. OK, go ahead. I’ll wait.

“Ask the animals, and they will teach you, or the birds of the air, and they will tell you … which of these does not know that the hand of Yahweh has done this?” Job 12:7-10

I mean, for reals. Some people don’t believe that God had anything to do with creation. Ask the birds. They’ll tell you.

I drove down to Colorado Springs for a meeting yesterday. One of the things I miss most about living there is Pikes Peak. I lived in the Springs for so long that I sometimes forgot to even notice the mountain looming before me on my way to work, or bright with sunlight as I drove to church. But now, whenever I drive down from Denver, I notice it — and I am awestruck.

Yesterday, just as I was coming over the hill that leads down into Colorado Springs, David Crowder Band’s version of “All Creatures of Our God and King” came on my iPod. And then it was all over.

The clouds hung over the mountain, sailing along at the feet of God Almighty. The sun pierced the clouds, its beams a reflection of the light God will one day bring to the whole earth. Pikes Peak stood tall and mighty, pointing to God our rock.

All creation praises God. It can’t help it. The trees clap, the seas roar, the winds howl, the rocks cry out. If only I praised him as well as the rest of his creation does.

You should watch this video. Watch God’s creation praise him for all he’s done, for who he is.

Oh, praise him.

5 Responses to “This Post Is for the Birds”

  1. Anonymous said

    I loved this post and I LOVE you! I want to be in the wild now πŸ™‚

  2. Jemima said

    Halleluyah, the heavens and the earth show forth his handy work!

  3. Every moment of every day is a living testimony to the glory of God, if only our eyes are open to see it. “Let everything that has breath, praise the Lord!”
    (actually that probably should be in caps: “LORD” – which I now know, thanks to your blog, is Yahweh)

  4. i love watching birds πŸ™‚ at our house in wisconsin we used to sit and watch the red winged blackbirds to do those swoops and dives and dances in our back yard near migration times. there were hundreds and maybe thousands, but not hundreds of thousand and millions like those starlings. one thing missing in most of the videos is the sound that they make… that many wings and wind makes a wonderful noise πŸ™‚ i can’t see nature and deny the Creator his due praise πŸ™‚

  5. rachel said

    tears and goosebumps. what an amazing God we serve. thank you for this post, denise.

Leave a Reply

