Let’s Feast All Year Long!

September 27, 2011

Hiya, hi.

How’s your Tuesday? I should probably be going to the library today, but I think it might crush my soul if I do. I’d rather hang out here. It’s better than the library.

It’s been a busy few days. My best good friend Micah got married in Arkansas, so we flew down for her gorgeous wedding. I will post a pictorial essay very soon. We did a flash mob dance at the reception. I was wittle scared at first, but it turned out to be so fun. We’re pretty impressive dancers.

So, I’ve decided to celebrate each of the biblical feasts this year. The feasts are holidays that God commanded his people to celebrate as lasting ordinances. Most Christians don’t celebrate them, but I don’t see any reason why we can’t or shouldn’t. They were for God’s people to remember how he had provided for them, and why they were to be thankful to him. Each feast also represented a shadow of the Messiah, Jesus Christ, who was to come.

Anyway, I’d love it if you’d take this journey with me this year! I’ve never celebrated all of the biblical feasts, although I have celebrated Passover for the last few years. There are seven biblical holidays — three in the fall (Rosh HaShanah, Day of Atonement and Sukkot) and four in the spring (Passover, Unleavened Bread, First Fruits and Pentecost). There are others that are not commanded in the Bible, but that many Jews celebrate, including Hanukkah and Purim. I may throw those in as an added bonus. I know you’re excited.

The first fall holiday begins this Thursday at sundown. It’s Rosh HaShanah, the Jewish new year, and it begins a period of 10 days of self-examination before the Day of Atonement (also known as Yom Kippur). I’ll blog about it probably Thursday and Friday, but if you want, you can read a bit about it here. If you really do want to participate in some of this with me this year, I encourage you to look for a Messianic Jewish church that has a Thursday evening Rosh HaShanah service this week!

OK, gotta go. Work is calling. Actually, it’s yelling. Kind of rude. Shalom, y’all.

3 Responses to “Let’s Feast All Year Long!”

  1. Rebecca Selin said

    i’m totally going to follow the holy-days with you 🙂 i’ve only ever done it half heartedly before, ya know forgetting half of them at least 😉 i’m marking up my google calendar to harass me at the appropriate times this year 🙂 thanks for the great idea/reminder denise!!

  2. denisemorris said

    Yay, Rebecca! I think it’ll be fun! And we get a long break between fall and spring. 🙂

  3. […] remember how I’m celebrating the biblical holidays this year? Three of them are in the fall, and four of them in the spring. However, we have a couple in […]

Leave a Reply

