The Non Haps

July 7, 2011

Y’all.

I know I haven’t been blogging lately, but I’m just not sure that you’re interested in hearing about me sitting on my couch reading my church history books, or going to the gym and cursing my way through Turbo Kick, or all the not mopping of my kitchen floor that goes on over here. I mean, it’s fascinating to me, but I just wasn’t sure you’d be super enthralled.

My left eye has been bothering me lately. I’ve come up with all kinds of eye diseases and tumors and glaucomas and blindesses that I most likely have. I’ll probably have to move home and my parents will send me to the Winoka School for the Blind where Mary Ingalls will teach me braille. I’ve scheduled an eye appointment for Saturday, and I’ve braced myself for the inevitable news that, yes, I actually have gone insane.

See, aren’t you glad I’m blogging?!

You guys. Are you on Pinterest? It is my new favorite thing ever! It’s a great way to keep track of cute stuff you see on the Internets, and to steal good ideas from all of your friends. It’s also a good place to keep track of all the crafts that I think are darling but will never actually make. Everyone join and I’ll follow you and you’ll follow me and we’ll all be friends and share fun stuff.

I found some boyfriend jeans! I don’t think I blogged about this, but I had mentioned on Facebook that I couldn’t find any anywhere. I had searched everywhere (Target and Gap), and I was out of luck. However, yesterday I found some at American Eagle! They have some cute stuff at that store, but since I’m not a juniors size 5, I haven’t been there in a long time. But, my friend Kristy got some boyfriend jeans there, so I decided to go. I found some AND, because they’re slouchy, you can get a size smaller than you actually wear and pretend that you’ve lost weight. It’s great. Also, I want these “pants.” Don’t they look comfy and cute and like they’d be perfect for wearing whilst reading church history books on your couch?

OK, there are some maintenance guys right outside my window and I think they’re tearing my wall down. Supposedly, they’re out there painting trim, but all of the loud banging and digging and wall-tearing-down-ing is convincing me otherwise.

I’m going on a speaking trip with Axis next week. Remember them? We’re going to Pennsylvania to talk about Important Things with high schoolers. I think it’ll be good times. I haven’t been on an Axis trip in awhile, and I love their focus on moving students from apathy to action. Through awesome presentations they really get students (and me) thinking about worldview and examining their faith. Most importantly, they encourage those of us who love God to show it through compassionate action — sharing the gospel and loving our neighbors. It’s quality stuff.

Before I go on the trip, though, I need to finish reading a book, write an eight-page paper on that book, write two lessons, take a quiz, and learn my part in the Axis presentation. I also need to sign up for braille classes. It’s going to be a busy few days.

Hope all is well, friends! Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again — rejoice!

4 Responses to “The Non Haps”

  1. Ashley Ramsey said

    A couple things,

    I feel ya about the cute crafts you’ll never actually make. I have an entire file of them on my desktop.

    And, you can’t post a picture of cute pants and not provide a link. Link please?

  2. denisemorris said

    Ashley, you’re so right! Forgive me. Here’s the link: http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=64710&vid=1&pid=807560

  3. Ashley Ramsey said

    Gap, I should have known.

  4. […] my boring summer, I’ve been in fully hypochondriac mode. As you know, I was pretty sure I was going blind for awhile. My eye doctor thwarted that drama by telling me that my eyes are very healthy, but dry. […]

Leave a Reply

