Shopping Spree (I just stared longingly)

April 22, 2011

Outfit #18. Woop, woop!

Sweater: Gap. Shirt: Ross. Jeans: Express. Shoes: TOMS. Necklace: Forever 21.

My presentation is done and all three of my papers have been turned in — wahoo!!! I am feeling good, you guys. Until finals.

My friend Diana’s mom is in town, and we all went on a shopping spree yesterday. They got some super cute stuff because they are trendsetters and super stylin’. Also, I was SO GOOD and didn’t buy any clothes! Although, I’m not going to lie, if I had found something I really loved on clearance at Anthropologie, I wouldn’t have been able to resist. I didn’t get any clothes, but I was feeling a bit left out, so I did get a grapefruit scented candle at Anthropologie. It is making my house smell happy at this very moment.

So, I made a mental list of the things I would love to have once this challenge is over and I am two sizes skinnier. (Also, once they go on clearance.) Like this dress, this skirt, and this top.

So, my presentation was about ancient gods and polytheism in early Israel. It was a very academic topic, and most of it was kind of tough to get through. But it did remind me that it is so easy for all of us to turn God into who we want him to be. Israel was guilty of this all the time — they worshipped multiple gods along with Yahweh. But I think we’re often guilty of the same thing. We worship the God we like, the God we want, not necessarily the God who has revealed himself in the Bible. We’re all in danger of doing this, but the prophets reminded Israel (and remind us through the Scripture today) that Yahweh wants us to worship him for who he is. He is holy, good and compassionate. He is slow to anger and abounding in love. We don’t need any “false idols” to supplement. He’s enough. He’s what we need.

I hope you have a super weekend, friends! Bless God. He is good.

Leave a Reply

