In Other News (In which we define “news” quite loosely.)

March 8, 2011

It is cold here and I am over it. I am ready for spring and heat and butterflies and also, gumdrops. And never having to scrape my car window again. Also, this fall, my mom sent me some info about combining vinegar and water in a bottle and spraying it on your windshield at night so that it won’t be icy in the morning. What a good idea, right?!

Also, guess who is apparently too depravenly (I just made that word up) lazy to put a bottle of vinegar/water in her car? And who also curses the ice when she has to slide around scraping it off her car in the morning when she is late for school?

OK, time to move on, yes? This subject has gotten boring. And too third person-y.

So I rented three movies this weekend. I decided to go to the Blockbuster nearest to my house because I rarely rent movies, and I hadn’t been to Blockbuster in ages, and I certainly hadn’t been to Blockbuster since I moved to Denver, so I figured it would be nice to start a good rapport with my friendly, neighborhood Blockbuster staff. SO, I drove on over to rent some movies, and naturally, they are closing the store forever this week. The entire place was pretty much packed, and the movies were placed haphazardly on the shelves, because obviously there’s no need to organize your movies when the store is closing.

They let me rent anyway, though, so that was good. I went to Blockbuster with the purpose of renting some movies I’d been wanting to see for awhile. I keep wanting to watch 8 Mile again (pretty much ever since that Superbowl commercial aired), and I really want to see Parenthood, since one of my fave shows is based on that movie. Somehow, though, I managed to forget all about those movies I’d been planning to rent for literal months.

Instead, I got The Secret Life of Bees (which I didn’t even end up watching) and Friday Night Lights (the movie, which I had actually been wanting to see. It was kind of a waste, though, because I just kept comparing it to the show, and it is nowhere near as good, especially because Billy Bob Thornton does not make for a good, loving Coach Taylor. He never once said “Clear eyes, full hearts, can’t lose!” One redeeming quality — same director, so the filming felt familiar. Oh, and another one, both the actors who play Tami Taylor and Buddy Garrity were in it, so that made me happy.)

Oh, and I also rented X-Men Origins: Wolverine. Really, Denise? Really? My only excuse is that I don’t hate the X-Men movies, and ALSO, Taylor Kitsch is in it, and who can resist the call of Tim Riggins even if he is playing a gambling mutant from New Orleans? No one, I tell you. Not one person can resist.

No one.

So, after I learned about how old Logan became the turmoiled Wolverine, I figured that I am a failure at movie renting and should probably not attempt it again for quite awhile. Which shouldn’t be a problem, since the store has closed.

Please let’s move on — this post gets more boring with every letter.

So, Lent starts on Wednesday. Is anyone giving anything up? Last year I did 40 Days of Water, which was really cool — I haven’t settled on anything yet for this year. Any suggestions?

I like Lent. I know it’s not a biblically mandated holiday, but I like the idea of taking time to remember what Jesus has done and to be aware of the coming observation of His death and the celebration of His resurrection. Because the date of Easter changes each year, I feel like it’s a holiday that can sneak up on me without much thought or preparation. But Jesus’ death and resurrection is the foundation of the Christian faith, so I like Lent because it gets me thinking about Jesus’ sacrifice ahead of time. I also really like doing a Passover Seder each year — again because it allows me to stop, remember what God has done, and really focus on His sacrifice and victory over sin.

OK, I need to stop and remember all of the freelance and homework I have to do. Sweet day, friends.

3 Responses to “In Other News (In which we define “news” quite loosely.)”

  1. I like this commercial. And I’m not sure why. I think that I’m “hip” while I watch it.

  2. denisemorris said

    You are hip. And it’s cool.

  3. denisemorris said

    Imported from Detroit.

Leave a Reply

