Not So Cool Runnings

July 26, 2010

Well, I had a super fun and refreshing time running that 10K on Saturday morning! There was a gentle breeze, a beautiful trail and an enthusiastic group of people out enjoying nature…

You didn’t think that was me, did you? I hope not. If so, you and I do not know each other very well. Not very well at all.

Yes, I suffered through the Colorado Springs Classic 10k. I woke up at 5:30 on Saturday morning to a gray, windy day. I rolled over and pretended that it was still night-time. Then I got up, cursing my foolishness. Do you know who is out and about at 5:30 a.m.? The insane fox that lives in my neighborhood, that’s who. It was trotting around with a dead mouse or something in its jaws. Gross. So, that’s what you have to look forward to if you get up early. This is why I try to stay in bed until noon.

As I drove to the race, I could see the clouds rushing to the south. Seriously, they were moving so fast. I was sure that it would hail and lightning and I would probably die somewhere on that lonely trail, especially since I would be the very last person to finish the race, so there would be no one behind me to rescue me.

I like to stay positive.

Now, every time I do a race, I realize how much I am not a runner. Yes, I go running sometimes, and I’ve run a few races, and I have Nike running shoes. But I am not a runner. Runners are people who wear very short shorts to races. They all have running friends that they chat with before the race begins. They are all so very excited to be up early and about to run six miles. Sickos.

Seriously, all of these people were busy running sprints around the starting line before the race began. They just wanted a little warm-up to get themselves pumped for the six miles ahead. I, on the other hand, was lying down in a corner, trying to get a little nap in before the start. I mean, seriously. I had to save every drop of energy I had to finish those stupid miles.

Also, during the race I learned that it is embarrassing to have short, fat, old men pass you by. Or women pushing baby strollers. And people wearing casts. Or injured turtles. But I finished, and my friend Alecia kindly came by to catch me as I passed out on the finish line. Also, my workout was done by 8 a.m.—awesome!

OK, folks, I need your advice. Can we think of any way I can justify buying this $98 purse from Banana Republic? Anyone? Ideas? No? Fine!

So, I went up to Denver on Friday and got to hang out with some sweet friends and explore the city a bit. I kind of love it! First of all, it reminds me a lot of Minneapolis. Similar layout, feel and neighborhoods. There are great biking and running trails (you guys, I love to run), and so many fun shops and restaurants. Also, did you know that both Denver and Minneapolis have recently started a citywide bikeshare program? You can rent a bike from racks around the city, and then ride it around and drop it off at any other rack around the city. Isn’t that cool? I like it.

Denver also has so many cool, old houses. Some are big, some are tiny, some are bungalows, and some are old Victorians. I love all of them. Someone please buy me a tiny bungalow in Denver. I will take excellent care of it, I promise. “Thank you,” in advance.

I totally did some actual freelance work this weekend, you guys! This happens once in a never, so I am feeling very proud of myself for buckling down and getting things done.

This week’s sermon at church was about Isaiah 40. That passage is great for a lot of reasons, but I definitely love the verse where the prophet says,

Why do you say, O Jacob, and complain, O Israel, “My way is hidden from the LORD; my cause is disregarded by my God”? Do you not know? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom.

It reminds me that of course God knows about my fears and concerns. Of course He remembers me and of course He cares. It is foolish and arrogant of me to think that God is not wholly involved in every part of His creation. It was a really nice reminder. Our God is good.

Ok, pookies, I better be going. I’ve got to go find some more people to complain about running to. (Yes, I ended that sentence with a preposition. In your face, grammar!)

4 Responses to “Not So Cool Runnings”

  1. Rebekah Largent said

    Glad you enjoyed your run so much. Really, though, I knew from the first sentence of this blog that you were a big ol’ liar.

    Also, I think Colorado Springs should do a bike-sharing program. I probably wouldn’t participate since I’m a lazy slob, but it would be cool anyway.

    And don’t call me pookie.

  2. Jaci said

    Oh, I want that bag too! Maybe we can each pay half and take turns using it. Sound good? And maybe I have a coupon, which would make it only 75, which would only be 35ish each. Not bad at all, right?

  3. denisemorris said

    Jac, I think that is a perfect idea. Sisterhood of the traveling purse! Let’s do it.

  4. […] remember how I mentioned that shifty fox who lives in my neighborhood? I hate him. Or her. Or them. (Because, honestly, there could be forty […]

Leave a Reply

