That’s Why I Come Up Here. Nature!

June 7, 2010

Ah, Monday. Remember how last week at this time, we were still sleeping? I think we should all have four-day work weeks all the time. How do I lobby the president so that this becomes law?

Well, I have recently come into some wealth, my friends. My buddies Kim and Bekah had a garage sale this weekend and I sold some of my clothes and shoes. I didn’t sell everything, because not everyone who came by needed tons of shirts I got on clearance at Target and size giant shoes. However, I did make a whopping $28.80. Jealous much? Considering that I sold pretty much everything for $1 or 50ยข, I’m pleased with my new riches. I can now buy a whole bunch of crap at the Dollar Tree.

So, my friend Ashley and I saw Shutter Island this weekend. It’s that creepy-looking movie with Leonardo DiCaprio. They go to a crazy island full of crazy people and try to solve a crazy mystery. (Oh my gosh, I just realized that sounded like a description for LOST. I suddenly like this movie much more.) I was scared to go see it because I thought I would have to cover my eyes every other second. But, I didn’t. This is mainly because I am hardcore. And also because it wasn’t very scary. It was pretty interesting, though, and it had a good twist. I felt it was a little too long and a little weird, but overall, it was worth the watch.

The preceding paragraph has been brought to you by, “Denise’s Review of Movies That Came Out Four Months Ago and That You No Longer Care About.”

You guys, it was totally hot this weekend! I was sweltering. Also, what does it look like to swelter, I wonder? Probably like me splayed out across my bed with my fan blowing hot air from outside on to my face. That was this weekend’s picture, at least.

So, a couple of my friends are very into enjoying nature lately, even in the midst of sweltering heat. Knowing them, it will probably last about another week, but they’re quite enthusiastic at the moment. They kept bugging me to go on nature walks and to climb the Incline of Horror, Destruction and Death, but I would have none of it. I was a committed worker this weekend and had to get my freelance project done. I also managed to watch quite a few episodes of “Friends.”

Here we are at the BBQ. See all the nature in the background?

On Sunday, however, I was ready for the great nature times. We went to a fun BBQ at a park, along with the rest of Colorado Springs. Seriously, this was a huge BBQ. Like almost 200 “young people” from around the city. I knew like half of them because I am super popular.* Then we were going to go on a nature-filled bike ride, but it started to rain. Stupid nature. So, we had to go back to Alecia’s house and watch NBA basketball and eat snacks. We included some carrots (they grow in nature) and some wine (fruit of the vine), so we stayed true to our nature quest for the day, I think.

Here is a thing that I would like you to do: start attending my church. It is such a great church and so worth it. If, however, you live far away in Texas or Minnesota or Jamaica and cannot make the weekly commute, you should go here and listen to some sermons from Pastor Al, who is 1) hilarious, 2) a truth speaker, and 3) hilarious. I know it seems like a lot of work and time and effort to go listen to a whole sermon, but I promise you that you will like them. You don’t need to listen to them all, but I think my favorite sermon ever was just a week ago. It’s titled “Radical Faith.” You should listen to it right now because it is powerful and convicting and truthful. Also, Pastor Al called us all “skanky sinners,” so, obviously, it was awesome. Yesterday’s was good too. It’s called “Follow Me,” and talks a lot about how we are all pretty good at judging others. I think he wrote it just for me.

Well, my friends, I should be going. Today is supposed to be sweltering and such, and I’ve got to avoid my friends who want to enjoy nature. If anyone needs me, I’ll be at the Dollar Tree.

Have a great day!

*In this blog post, “popular” is defined as “delusional.”

7 Responses to “That’s Why I Come Up Here. Nature!”

  1. Jenn said

    Um thanks for clarifying that it was NBA basketball and not NBA Soccer… haha! Also, I was thinking about going to the pool… you should come home. where is our pool key?

  2. Ash said

    Denise:
    1. Remember how nature is good for your soul? You must not care much about the state of your soul to work so hard to avoid nature.
    2. Shutter Island is in no way like LOST for the following reasons: No Jack, Sawyer, or comic relief Hurley “Curly Hutch” or Charlie. Only creepy people on a creepy island.
    3. I think you will eventually cave and become a nature-jover. I will even make you a cheap Target T-shirt that says so.

  3. denisemorris said

    Jenn: It could’ve been college basketball or WNBA basketball, though. You know how everyone loves the WNBA. Also, you are rude for going to the pool when other people have to be in the office. You should bring me a treat to make up for the rudeness.

    Ashley: So true about Shutter Island. My soul is fine without nature! In fact, I’ve divided it up for safekeeping.

  4. Jenn said

    ahaha! NBA can’t be college basketball silly… it stands for National Basketball Association. You are rude for making money while I am not… so there! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. denisemorris said

    Oh, Jenn. I will explain this whole basketball thing to you when I come home. It’s too hard in the comments. Unless you’re at the pool when I get home. Then I will just lock you out because I’m jealous. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Leanna said

    So I’m currently listening to Pastor Al’s sermon on “Radical Faith.” Thank you for passing this along…what a challenge!

  7. denisemorris said

    Oh, good, Leanna! I was very challenged by it — in a good way!

Leave a Reply

