Better Than the Carbon Monoxide Post. Maybe.

June 3, 2010

My Sweets,

I have so many things to tell you! Actually, about two things, but that’s more than the usual nonsense stories about how I nearly (not at all) died of carbon monoxide poisoning. I think you should be grateful.

Anyway, about a week and a half ago, my kindred Jaci came to visit. If you’ll remember, she’s the one who coldly left her home and besties in Colorado in order to be engaged and dying of heat stroke in Texas. She recently realized the error of her ways and rushed back to Colorado. (Or, she just came for a five-day visit. Whatever.)

Anyway. Here are the things that we did:

We went to Manitou Springs and pretended to be hippies at our fav restaurant, Adam’s Mountain Cafe. We had crostini with figs and pears as an appetizer. We hippies love those kinds of appetizers. The figs were actually really good. They served it with goat cheese, spinach, caramelized onions and candied pecans. I am going to try to make it someday. As soon as I figure out how to milk a goat.

While in Manitou, we played skee ball at the old timey arcade in town. Then the girls all hopped on to a mini merry-go-round made for babies. The carnie promptly kicked them off because they were over age ten. I cannot take them anywhere.

Then Alecia got attacked by a little girl with a sword. She really did.

Now on to Saturday! (I am suddenly realizing that this story really isn’t all that much more interesting than my nonexistent carbon monoxide one. Oh well. Might as well stick with the status quo. Also, I am currently writing this post in lieu (it just took me 100 years to figure out how to spell “lieu”) of working on a big freelance project, so I am stretching it out as long as possible. Oh poor readers, you should probably just go on about your day now. This is likely to get even more endless and boring.)

Saturday!

Jaci is getting married on the anniversary of the day our great nation declared its independence from people with funny accents. So, we threw her a bridal shower while she was here. I think that we need a mini pictorial essay, yes? (Also, I’m very sorry if these pictures show up all crazy on your computer. They are previewing very differently on my pc versus my mac, so I have no clue how they’ll look for you. I’m good with the technology.)

I decorated with lots of flowers and pinks, oranges, yellows and greens. It felt very springy.


Ashley and I made a banner out of fabric. Here is some advice that I will give you. It doesn’t come from experience or anything. Make sure that when buying iron-on letters that they are actually iron-on letters. Otherwise, you may have to cut out fabric letters and stick them on to your banner with spray glue. And your fingers will never, ever, ever be free of that glue. Ever.

We had lots of yummy foods, including mini caprese appetizers, mimosas and baked brie.


Overall, it was super fun times.

Then came Sunday. A Sunday that will live in infamy. It was the day of the LOST series finale. My thoughts on it are too extensive and philosophical and weepy and rambling to be included in this post, so come back tomorrow for that sweet goodness.

The rest of Jaci’s trip was spent stuffing envelopes with wedding invitations, eating many foods, attending book club, taking walks around our neighborhood, discussing the meaning of life after the LOST finale, and just being besties. It was great, and we can’t wait to head up to Oregon for the wedding in a month!

Anyhoos. This post has gone on long enough. If you are awesome, you’ll want to check back in tomorrow for my LOST finale post. If you don’t watch LOST, you’ll want to come back anyway so that you can pretend you are awesome and part of the cool crowd.

K, bye!

3 Responses to “Better Than the Carbon Monoxide Post. Maybe.”

  1. Sue said

    I enjoyed your blog today Denise. I guess the reason is obvious, but I also wanted to let you know how lovely your bridal shower was. I loved the decorations and the treats looked wonderful, I only wish I could have been there to enjoy them in person. Can’t wait to show you Oregon. 31 days to go!

  2. denisemorris said

    Thanks, Sue! It was fun to put it together. Can’t wait for fun times in Oregon!!

  3. Jaci said

    It was such a jovely shower. And the weekend was full of super fun times.

    I’m so sad Lost is gone. I’m glad you’re going to write about it tomorrow. I will be checking your blog all day until you post again.

Leave a Reply

