Updatey Times

January 19, 2010

Hello, my sweet dears.

I hope everyone is keeping up on all of their New Jear’s Resolutions. I have resolved to become even more awesome this year, which may seem impossible, but where there’s a will, there’s a way.

So, here is some sad news. Jaci, my kindred from the race of Joseph has abandoned me and run off to Austin to live with cowboys and big-haired people. Also, she got engaged and figured she should live near her soon-to-be-husband. Fine. Whatever.

So my heart is sad that Jaci is gone. But my heart is happy that she is engaged and especially that she is getting married on the 4th of July and will be having a Star Spangled Wedding! Jaci keeps pretending that she’s not OK with our suggestion that her wedding colors be red, white and blue, but we know that she is SO excited by all the ideas we keep sending her. Like this one. And also, this.

And best of all — this.

It’s going to be such a great wedding!

But Sarena and I did gain a great new roommate in our new friend, Jenn! She is super fun and cool, and also an extreme cheat when it comes to card games. Just saying. You probably don’t want to play against her.

So, remember how I hated Brett Favre last August? Yeah, me neither. I have blocked all of those comments about his old man shoulder from my memory, because he has become my favorite ever in the history of the world! The Vikings will be playing New Orleans in the NFC championship this weekend. It’ll be a tough game. I will probably spend most of it screaming and trying not to swear at the TV. Also, I will spend it eating a lot of Pioneer Woman snacks. You know, to support my team… SKOL, Vikings!

My friend, Rebekah, introduced me to this video. It gets a little off-color at the end, but you know what, the system doesn’t own me! Happy Birthday to the ground!

Speaking of NBC, how rude!! I am so with Coco.

So, my next few lessons that I’m writing for the curriculum I’m working on, have to do with Job’s story. I’ve mentioned it before, but I’m always fascinated by his situation. God allows Job to suffer, and He really never answers any of his questions. It’s just the way it is. I’m excited to go a bit deeper into these passages–I’m sure I’ll be reporting on it here with all of my many opinionated opinions. Look forward to that.

Speaking of suffering, if you haven’t yet, please donate to an organization that is providing relief to Haiti. I recommend Compassion International or World Vision. Also, check out Halogen TV for lots of updates about what you can be doing to help the people of Haiti. I wrote this article for them about products you can buy to help support the earthquake relief efforts. Also, Dan Woolley, the Compassion International worker who was finally found and rescued from an elevator shaft, used to work here at David C. Cook. Many of my co-workers know him, so it was quite tense around here until he was found. Continue to pray for David Hames, a Colorado Springs man who is still missing in Haiti.

OK, I gots to go. I am thinking I should do another fashion faux pas post again soon, because let’s face it, I continue to buy some ugly stuff.

Have a great day!

9 Responses to “Updatey Times”

  1. Jaci said

    Is that cake made out of towels??

  2. denisemorris said

    It looks like it. And beautiful ribbon.

  3. Jess Inman said

    I’m an adulllllt!! I love that Andy Samberg, whom I accidentally call Adam Sandler at least once a week.

  4. denisemorris said

    Jess: I love that, “I’m an adult!” So awesome. And yes, easily confused with Adam Sandler. 🙂

    Ashley: Are your hands broken? Cause mine actually are.

  5. Sue said

    I have a Brett Fat head I might be willing to sell for the right price. You just have to repaint his jersey.

  6. denisemorris said

    Sue, depending on how Sunday’s game goes, I just might buy it from you. 🙂

  7. […] a week and a half ago, my kindred Jaci came to visit. If you’ll remember, she’s the one who coldly left her home and besties in Colorado in order to be engaged and dying of heat stroke in Texas. She […]

  8. […] I have been feeling patriotic for the last couple of days. Much like I felt during Jaci’s wedding. My friend Phil officially became an American citizen on Monday. He’s lived here for a […]

Leave a Reply

