Almost Famous — Or Not

December 7, 2009

You guys. I’m sorry I haven’t blogged in awhile, but I have been so busy being VERY FAMOUS that I just haven’t had the time. Very. Famous.

As you probably totally noticed, since you scour every inch of my blog every time you’re here, I changed my header. I was getting a bit tired of my giant face. I like this picture because it is Artsy. Also, you can see less of my giant face. And it’s vintagey and turquoisey with pops of red. Also, it lets all the menfolks know that my left ring finger is in need of some bling. Wink.

So, Cherry Springs Wonderland, otherwise known as “our house,” is celebrating Christmas.

And perhaps a bit of Hanukkah.  

I really don’t go all out with seasonal decorating — this is mainly because I am too lazy to switch my laundry from the washer to the dryer, so do we really think that I’m going to switch out my house decorations based on the season? Exactly. So, I don’t go All Out for Christmas either, but I do enjoy a bit of holiday cheer.

My neighbors, on the other hand, love them every all bits of Christmas. One of our neighbors has a very realistic-looking Santa in their front yard. He is creepy, and it is possible that it’s a real man who is just sitting very still. Our other neighbors have an inflatable santa that pops out of a Christmas package and makes frightening shadows on the house. I think people need to calm down their tacky Christmas crap. Just my humble (and famous) opinion.

Also, I have been ON IT with my Christmas gifts this year. I am almost done shopping already! This does not usually happen until the night before I fly home for Christmas, so I’m pretty proud of myself. If any of you need ideas for what to get me, I just happen to have a short list of possibilities right here:

* iPhone

* Teacup piglet

* 2 years worth of tuition

* These

And speaking of ridiculous materialism during the Christmas season, make sure you don’t take a stand! at least not for the wrong reasons.

Have I mentioned that I am the most famous person in the world?

So lately I have been reminded that Jesus wants me to serve wholeheartedly as if serving the Lord, not men. He would also appreciate it if I would at least try to love my neighbor. It’s all so very difficult sometimes. And, honestly, a lot of the time, I just don’t want to try. But the sermon at church this week reminded me that God’s love is so merciful and faithful. He has given it freely, and I should at least make a pitiful attempt to do the same.

Oh, and one last thing. Did you guys happen to hear that I was mentioned by (screen) name on the front page (of the television blog) of a little local publication I like to call TIME Magazine (.com)? I mean, whatever. It’s not a big deal. Please don’t even bring it up. The constant fame and attention is a bit embarrassing.

Hope your week is off to a good start, friendsies!

8 Responses to “Almost Famous — Or Not”

  1. Jaci said

    I am so impressed by your famousness.

  2. denisemorris said

    Me too.

  3. laura said

    Denise, you are way ahead of your time blogging from a typewriter.
    Don’t forget I knew you before you were famous (in the pre-capturer in the wheat/time magazine days, as I commonly refer to them).

    Laura

    PS…yep! Working with Becky…she and Steve are both RDs. We figured that it took us this long to actually meet because the weekend that we visited you, she also had northwestern folks visiting her, so we didn’t get to hang out. Small world though!

  4. Alecia said

    Don’t fret, your piglet will be delivered soon. It will arrive in a pretty lil teacup with a ribbon around it.

  5. denisemorris said

    Laura: I commonly refer to those days too. I won’t forget you. Perhaps I will type you a little personalized post on my typewriter. Also, that is CRAZY about Becky. So cool!

    Alecia: Hooray! I will feed him some delicious queso at Chili’s.

  6. Leah said

    Denise! You should blog more, coz I linked to your blog on my blog saying I found this awesome new blog… and now you’re not blogging 😦

    Blog is a weird word.

  7. denisemorris said

    Leah, your wish is my command.

  8. Dude, you ARE famous. I mean Time.com? Major.
    And I LOVE the new photo header. Such a cool pic. Even if you are slightly upstaged by an unbelievably cool typewriter.

Leave a Reply

