Highly Favored

October 21, 2009

Oh friends, my blog has suffered greatly over the last few weeks. Poor Mr. Blog. So lonely and neglected.

Let’s see, what has happened? I was sick with a bad cold for a bit. Over a weekend. Who wants to be sick during the weekend? No one I know. Sickness is supposed to happen on a Wednesday or something. Get it right next time, body!

I discovered my new favoritest thing ever in the world: teacup piglets! That’s right, a piglet. A piglet that is so small it fits into a teacup. Not convinced that you should love Tiny Teacup Tucker? Well, then take a look at this!

piglet

That’s what I thought! If that isn’t the most adorable thing you have ever seen in your whole entire all of life, then we should be friends so that I too can enjoy the adorable stuff that you get to see all the time. Don’t you just love him? How about this guy?

drink

He is so vewwy thirstee.

He haz sleepy times.

So that’s what I’ve been up to lately. Pretending that I actually want a real, live pig living in my house simply because it is small and enjoys a spot of tea.

Anyway. As you can tell, I’ve been busy and unable to blog.

Other things have happened lately, I’m sure. But my memory is not so good now that I’m in my late twenties. All the naps and things run together. I am getting ready to fail my midterm for my Old Testament class in a couple weeks. It is going to be so hard because we’re supposed to memorize about 40 billion essay questions. And, as previously mentioned, the old memory is slippin’.

So, Martin Smith from the band Delirious?, came and sang at our chapel at David C. Cook last week. He’s written some beautiful worship songs over the years, so it was awesome to have him there. He’s just finished work with a ton of other artists (Michael W. Smith, Steven Curtis Chapman, Chris Tomlin, Tim Hughes, Matt Redman, Darlene Zschech, etc.) on a project called Compassion Art. They got together and wrote a bunch of songs, and all the proceeds of the album go to different charities committed to freeing people from poverty.

Martin talked about the project, and then he sang “Highly Favoured,” one of the songs from the Compassion Art album. (They’re British, so they spell things funny. Right, then.) Here are the lyrics to the chorus:

Majesty and mercy meet me in this moment, how can it be that I’ve been chosen by the King?

There’s no greater honour, there’s no greater treasure, than to be known and loved by You.

I am highly favoured; I am highly favoured.

The Watoto Children’s Choir from Uganda sings those words. The children in this choir are orphans. Many are HIV positive. Some were child soldiers in northern Uganda. Most have experienced more horror than any of us ever will.

And they sing joyfully about how they are highly favored by God.

It breaks my heart. It makes me ashamed. If these broken and battered children can sing about God’s favor for them, how on earth can I ever sit and pout when God doesn’t deliver the way I want Him to? I am supremely blessed. I have physical comforts most of the world cannot imagine. I am surrounded by a community of friends who care about me. I have a family who loves me. I have God’s very Word at my fingertips.

How do I ever doubt God’s love? If these children — suffering from HIV, missing their parents, scarred from war — can recognize God’s love and favor in their lives, how arrogant of me to choose to ever ignore it in my own.

It was a beautifully heartbreaking reminder. We are highly favored by God. It is true. Always. We have been chosen by the King. Praise Him for it.

8 Responses to “Highly Favored”

  1. MJ said

    My body followed your advice and got sick today. How fortunate, because today is Wednesday! Perfect timing. I totally plan to be better by the weekend.

    Actually, I got sick last night. Out of nowhere. 10 p.m.? Feeling relatively fine. 10:45? Upchucking dinner. Till 4:30 this morning.

    Reminds me of the Upchuck Incident of 2008.

  2. jess hale said

    i knew we were meant to be best friends for life when i read of your love for teacup piglets this morning. I also recently discovered them and my life feels incomplete without one by my side or in my teacup at home. I seriously wonder how we have lived this long without one of these?? Have you seen any for sale anywhere?!

  3. denisemorris said

    MJ: You should definitely keep a bucket nearby — dangerous stuff.

    Jess: Let’s get one! Apparently they’re really expensive. Like $1,000. But I think we could start a fund and get people to chip in. Also, I’ve heard you should get two so that they can be friends instead of getting bored and tearing your house and/or teacups apart What should we name them?

  4. Micah said

    “…simply because it is small and enjoys a spot of tea.”

    Hahahaha. That piglet just loves tea.

    Thanks for the reminder about being highly favoured. I hope this means you’ve canceled any and all plans you may have made for Saturday morning.

  5. Faye said

    I’m not a good writer, so I’ll copy your words that touched my heart.

    It was a beautifully heartbreaking reminder. We are highly favored by God. It is true. Always. We have been chosen by the King. Praise Him for it.

    Thank you Denise!
    Love you,
    Auntie K

  6. denisemorris said

    Love you, Auntie Faisy.

  7. Lydia said

    So check it out! My coworker and I are at work (on a saturday boo) and we were looking up teacup piglets today because she wants to get a pig. I posted that exact same picture (first one) for her without having read your blog…crazy…and then I went to look at my links and found this and we both looked at it and were like, OMG that is the exact same pic we looked at today…only you posted this on Wednesday…silly coincidences make me giggle. Anywho, so I thought I would share that really unuseful information with you on the off chance that you might get a kick out of it too. You and my coworker want the exact same kind of pig!

  8. denisemorris said

    Lydia, your coworker and I need to be friends! 🙂 Aren’t they so cute?!

Leave a Reply

