The Land of 10,000 Lakes

August 26, 2009

Where has the week gone?! I know you’ve all been waiting breathlessly for an update on my trip to Minnesota. Quit rolling your eyes.

Please forgive my delayed bloggyness. This week has been crammed full of a two hour airplane ride, unpacking my tiny carry-on suitcase (we all know I’m not paying that $15 fee to check a bag), eating Taco Bell chalupas, ignoring freelance work, watching Star Trek at the dollar theater, and other imperative tasks.

But never fear. I have carved out a precious five minutes to ramble on about things that are of no interest to you. Here we go.

So, Minneapolis. It was a good time. I will share each tedious event with you through a pictorial essay. Mainly I am doing this only because I wanted to say “pictorial essay.”

First, Dad and I went to lunch at a “Jewish” deli. They did serve things like gefilte fish and matzah ball soup. But they also served ham and cheese omelets, which led me to believe they weren’t completely kosher. It was a really good lunch, although I was in the mood for some delicious cheese blintzes, but those are considered breakfast foods and they only serve breakfast on weekends. It was Friday, but since I was on vacation, I thought it was Saturday and was very confused. It was a very dramatic ordering process. Oy vey!

After lunch, I promptly went and got a snack with Kate and Katie, my dear friends from my days at the University of St. Thomas. We caught up and then made plans for the girls’ weekend trip we’ve been pretending we’re going to take for the last several years. But we’re actually going to do it this time!

kandk

Friday evening, my dad, brother and I attended a Minnesota Vikings preseason game. The big news is dummy Brett Favre. I thought the loyal Minnesotans would boo him, but instead, everyone screamed like teenage girls at a Jonas Brothers concert when he ran onto the field. Ridiculous.

favre

The game was fun times. We had really good seats and the Vikes won.

family

Also, there was this guy.

viking

On Saturday I spent a lot of time with my dad and brother, and we ate dinner in my dad’s backyard, and spent time chatting around the firepit.

yardfun

My friend Nicki from high school came over to say hello. We played softball and soccer together. We were not very good at either sport, but we had fun.

nicki

My dad’s garden was SO MUCH MORE victorious than ours. I hate him a little bit.

victory

On Sunday, we went out for Dim Sum. Waitresses come by pushing carts with millions of tiny containers of food. Some of the food was good. Some of it was kind of weird. I ate something with shark fin in it. There was lots of shrimp and tofu. They served beef intestine, which looks kind of like wide, flat noodles. And then there were the phoenix talons, a.k.a. CHICKEN FEET. The waitress set a tiny little bowl of fried chicken feet on our table. They looked like chicken feet—because they were c-h-i-c-k-e-n f-e-e-t. Vomit, vomit, vomit. My brother ate one. Vomit again.

So, yeah, Dim Sum really was good. Except for all of the toes on the table. Later, my dad and I went on a bike ride along the Mississippi River. It was such a beautiful day.We found this café and had to stop for fries and a drink.

cafe

This was our view.

view

Later, we watched The Soloist, which is a really good flick. You should watch it too.

So that was about it. The next morning, I boarded a flight and came back to the light air of Colorado. It was fun seeing family and friends—thanks, Dad!

Anyhoo, that was my weekend in pictures. Fascinating, I know. Now I am back and preparing for grad school orientation on Friday. Woo hoo! How has your week been so far? Eaten any chicken feet?

6 Responses to “The Land of 10,000 Lakes”

  1. Alecia said

    “…But instead, everyone screamed like teenage girls at a Jonas Brothers concert when he ran onto the field. Ridiculous.” Love it. I bet it really reverberated throughout the Metrodome too. Ah, the good ‘ol fairweather fans of Minnesota.

  2. Eva Joy said

    Can’t believe you didn’t come to Rochester. I wasn’t there, so I guess I can’t feel too bad, but you still could have stopped by. Next time.

    I love Ragnar.

    My feelings for Brent Farve are not as strong.

    That view of the city is amazing!!!

  3. Derek Wong said

    How could you NOT enjoy chicken feet?? I must say that I enjoy them, but even more than that I think that it’s interesting to see how society affects people’s tastes in food. I guess that it helps that I am much more accustomed to it than you are. 🙂

  4. madrozie said

    Pretty cool post. I just came by your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon!

  5. denisemorris said

    Eva: Next time I will totally come to Rochester to visit you.

    Derek: I didn’t even taste the chicken feet. Perhaps I would’ve enjoyed them, although I doubt it. I’m picky about my meat, especially when it comes to feet. 🙂

    Madrozie: So glad you’re here! Come back and visit every single day!

  6. katherine said

    That’s correct. We’re really gonna do that trip this year! If we could only figure out where to go…..

Leave a Reply

