Not Guilty!

August 17, 2009

Oh, friends. Know what I love? Fresh peaches. I have one sitting by me right now and I can smell its sweetness wafting my way. But instead of eating that sweet, healthy peach, know what I eat? McDonald’s cheeseburgers. And seven-layer dip. And Thai food. Not calorie-light peaches.

Those food choices may be part of the reason I am “big boned.” Sigh.

Anyhoo, I am starting a seminary class called “Early Israel and Its Wisdom Literature” in a couple of weeks. That may sound like the most boring, barfy class ever to you, but to my ears it sounds like this: “Tra-la-la-fun-fun-fun-learn-learn-learn-Jewish-Jewish-Jewish!” (It’s catchy in my head.) Well, it did sound that way until I downloaded the 23-page syllabus for the class. It sounds a little less fun and a little more horrifying right now. But we shall see. I’ll report back when it starts.

So the other night I had the weirdest dream in which my friends and I were bandits on the run for crimes we didn’t commit! I can’t remember what crimes we were falsely accused of, but I do know that we ended up hiding out at my old house, trying to “lay low” and keep out of sight of the coppers. But then we also kept inviting all of our friends over and talking loudly about how we were escaped bandits hanging out at my house. So, needless to say, those crazy cops got wind of it and showed up, even though we were not guilty. Then we had some kind of shoot-out/knife fight and then I woke up and realized that my fan was blowing freezing cold air on me because Colorado has decided that the middle of August is a good time for autumn weather. And then I also remembered that I watched an episode of LOST about Kate running from the law — which may have a tiny little something to do with my dream. The end.

OK, wake up. I have something important to say:

Sardines is the best game ever! I played it at Jeremiah and Kim’s house the other night and we had so very many fun times! The house was pitch black and it took us forever to find people and we tripped over things a lot. But seriously, so fun! I am going to plan an ultimate sardines party very soon. Because I am twelve.

We held a bridal shower for our friend, Ginna this weekend. She is marrying our other friend, Steve. They are planning to be Friends for Life. They’re having a “destination wedding” over Labor Day — in Fargo, ND.

Technically, it is a destination. See, we will have to fly to get there.

Micah did a beautiful job with the decorations and food for the shower. See how pretty?

shower

Know what song I am loving lately? Well, if you don’t, you can bet your bottom dollar that I am about to tell you right now: “All Creatures of our God and King.” I’ve heard it a bazillion times, but lately those lyrics are just so sweet. I will post them for you to read. Also, you should actually read them instead of just skimming them like I would probably do if I were reading this blog. Praise Him as you do — join the sun, moon, rushing wind and lights of evening in worshiping our great and glorious God!

All creatures of our God and King, Lift up your voice and with us sing, Alleluia! Alleluia! Thou burning sun with golden beam, Thou silver moon with softer gleam! O praise Him, O praise Him! Alleluia! Alleluia! Allelu-u-ia!

Thou rushing wind that art so strong, Ye clouds that sail in heav’n along, O praise Him! Alleluia! Thou rising morn, in praise rejoice, Ye lights of evening, find a voice! O praise Him, O praise Him! Alleluia! Alleluia! Alleluia!

And all ye men of tender heart, Forgiving others, take your part, O sing ye! Alleluia! Ye who long pain and sorrow bear, Praise God and on Him cast your care! O praise Him, O praise Him! Alleluia! Alleluia! Alleluia!

Let all things their Creator bless, And worship Him in humbleness, O praise Him! Alleluia! Praise, praise the Father, praise the Son, And praise the Spirit, Three in One! O praise Him, O praise Him! Alleluia! Alleluia! Alleluia!

So, praise Him. He is sweet to us.

OK, I’ve got to go figure out hiding spots for my sardines party. We’ll chat again soon!
Denise-y

5 Responses to “Not Guilty!”

  1. Kristy said

    That wisdom literature class was my second favorite at seminary. So it is fun. Despite that syllabus.

  2. Lindsay said

    I always like to count Canadians when I visit Fargo, ND. You can figure out which ones they are by their shifty eyes. 🙂

  3. Ginna said

    People reading this are looking at the map and thinking, “I want to go there. I wish I had been invited.” I just know it! Also, I really want to play sardines.

  4. denisemorris said

    Oh they totally do, Ginna. They are so jealous. 🙂 We will play sardines soon because I love it!

    Linday: Canadians are shifty. They have french roots which equals automatic shiftiness.

    Kristy: I’m really glad you liked it–I’m excited for it!

  5. denisemorris said

    Doesn’t that cheeseburger picture look good? It’s making me want another cheeseburger. Stupid, boring peaches.

Leave a Reply

