Molten Cake and Other Life Improvements

August 12, 2009

PikesPeakTop

Forgive my lack of bloggyness lately. Between my freelance projects and my frequent naps, it’s been difficult to find the time.

So, my mom was here. Now she is gone. I liked it better when she was here. As I mentioned, we took the cog up to the top of Pikes Peak. It’s a very beautiful trip. Know what makes it less beautiful? The guide whose job it is to tell you the most corny and horrible jokes she can think of. The whole way up the mountain.

We met many new friends on the train, including a family of people (grandparents, kids, grandchildren) who were visiting The Mountains of Colorado and being Tourists. Also, some random kid from Kansas started chatting with my mom about a survival kit he was eyeing in the gift shop. He was a friendly sort, which is always appreciated, especially when you find it in one of those crazy youngins we’ve got nowadays.

Mom and I also did a lot of shopping and ate a lot of this chocolate molten cake. I plan to make it every single day for the rest of my life because it is so deliciously delicious. This new plan conflicts a tiny bit with my other plan of only eating plants and things, but hey, sometimes conflict is good and teaches us important life lessons, such as: Always eat more chocolate molten cake.

Here we are before church on Sunday. And yes, I am wearing plaid. And yes, this outfit is in the running for the poor fashion choice feature. Don’t worry.

momandme2

Apparently I am starting a grad school class in a few weeks. I kind of keep forgetting about it, which is probably not a good sign. Also, don’t you think I need to go shopping for new school clothes?! Probably I do.

My friends and I have started a new walking regimen because we read one tiny article that we have decided is right on the money. We have decided this mainly because it says you don’t need to go running, or suffer through Satan’s Jillian Michael’s “30 Day Shred,” or sweat a lot — instead you just need to be “active.” We have defined being active as walking around the block. Those pounds are going to melt right off. Also, our walking regimen lasted two mornings. Today we needed a rest from all of the activeness, so we slept in. Luckily, I have also read an article that says people who sleep more are thinner. I’m expecting that to kick in any day now.

I’m reading through the book of Job right now and Job so forcefully argues that he is innocent and doesn’t deserve the suffering he’s going through. That always amazes me — how could he be so confident? Couldn’t he think of some past sin or bad thought or indiscretion that God might be punishing him for? How did he know he was innocent before God almighty? Answers? Thoughts?

Finally, I saw SirTinestofRockiesFans at church last Sunday. He was wearing all Broncos gear and had his face painted like a tiger or something. It was completely awesome.

OK, bye then! See you soon!

5 Responses to “Molten Cake and Other Life Improvements”

  1. Martha said

    I’m a big believer in the benefits of walking–and sleeping!

  2. Alecia said

    Um, I’m a big believer in the benefits of walking and sleeping too. I mostly just believe in the sleeping part, though.

  3. Jill said

    Why is it that when I stand next to you, I am so short, homely, & low-chested? And old. Because the rest of the time, i’m quite cute.

  4. denisemorris said

    Oh my gosh, mother. Please don’t say low-chested. Or ever talk about the official name of funny bone skin. You are cute. I love your haircut.

  5. Micah said

    Hahaha! Funny bone skin. Your mom is full of useful information. I learn something new every time she comes here! Come back Jill!

    Also, please please teach me how to do that strike-through thing on my blah.

    Signed,
    Also a fan of sleeping.

Leave a Reply

