Gazillions of 3-Year-Olds and Other Ways to Go Crazy

August 3, 2009

Some people like to read all of the Harry Potter books again. Even though they’ve already read them. And know how they’re going to end. And have other books on their “to read” lists. But instead of reading those books, they follow Harry around Hogwarts until 2 a.m. when they have to go to work the next day. Some people just like to do that, OK?

Anyway, I’m sleepy this morning. Not sure why.

So at church on Sunday I helped with Sunday School for the three-year-old class. We had 25 kids. A multitude of tiny people. In one classroom. It was awesome, hilarious and nerve-wracking. I loved it so much. I also made some new friends. I would post pictures, but that would probably get me into some kind of trouble with the church, the parents and/or the law. So just use your imaginations — or be willing to post bail.

First there was my friend Tiny Shorts McTiny. He is up on all the trends as evidenced by his smallest of all small madras shorts and white polo shirt. McTiny is fond of Ironman figurines and picture books. He and I spent many an hour conversing about the finer points of play dough sculptures.

I also met Madam CutiePie McJeanSkirt. She was not a fan of singing. I’m not sure if it was our voices or the horrendous actions to “Father Abraham” that turned her off. Either way, she preferred standing in the corner with her hands over her face during the praise and worship portion of class. She cheered right up when I asked about her blue and pink manicured fingernails though. We spent much of the morning refining our taste palates with the mild cheddar delights of Goldfish crackers.

Shorty Fancyheimer wore a tie and sweater vest to church. He does not play around when it comes to dressing his best in the house of the Lord. But don’t get me wrong — he was not snooty about it. Fancyheimer loosened that tie right on up and blew some magnificent bubbles along with the rest of us. He wanted us to know that he was formal, but was also here to party.

Sir TiniestofRockiesFans was dressed down in his baseball gear. But this was probably because, as he informed me, he was going over to his aunt’s house for hot dogs after church. He had to be ready. Sir TRF was really the bubble expert in the class. He could blow big bubbles and small bubbles, and he could catch them expertly on his wand. Probably had to do with all of the baseball watching. He told me numerous times that his favorite colors are pink and purple, but not orange. It all works out well, really, since the Rockies’ colors are purple. It’s a win/win.

Pouty McGlaresAlot and I did not get along quite as well. He didn’t appreciate my input about when to sit down or when to stop snatching toys from the other children. In fact, he often responded to me by crossing his arms and glaring menacingly in my direction. I responded by sticking out my tongue at him ignoring it — mainly in order to cover up my hurt feelings.

All in all, it was a good morning. I have lots of new friends and only a few new gray hairs.

I would like to give a quick shout-out to my friends who have recently become addicted to the best show ever — Lost. Glad you’ve joined Club Awesome.

Also, one last thing. My co-worker Rebecca is working on a new magazine that looks really sweet. It’s called Namesake and I haven’t had much time to look at it, but the artwork is super awesome, which automatically makes it worth a look. This is their first issue, so look for more to come!

OK, I gots to get going. I am in dire need of practice on my play dough sculptures so that I can hang with the cool kids next time I go to Sunday School.

Hope you’re having an awesome day!

8 Responses to “Gazillions of 3-Year-Olds and Other Ways to Go Crazy”

  1. Jill (Denise's mom) Anttila said

    You were Queen Drama McMessyhair. A disheveled, bossy performer. I was in charge of your hair.

  2. denisemorris said

    I think that’s a fitting name. Sums it all up, really.

  3. Alecia said

    Hahaha! Drama queen Mcmessyhair- I love it! Really though, this entire post cracked me up. I’m fairly certain that I’ve seen some of those childrens around. Glad you were blessed by all the childrens of the world. Amen. And thank you for starting Club Awesome. I’ve always wanted to be in a club.

  4. denisemorris said

    Alecia–it was Queen Drama not Drama Queen. There is a difference, thank you very much! I’m not sure what that difference is, but I know it is there.

  5. Jill (Denise's mom) Anttila said

    Queen is a title whereas queen is a noun.

  6. Natalie S. said

    Aw kids! For the life of me I cant understand why parents put their children in sweater vests?

  7. […] I saw SirTinestofRockiesFans at church last Sunday. He was wearing all Broncos gear and had his face painted like a tiger or […]

  8. […] 8 months to 1 year. It reminded me of hanging out with the 3-year-olds back at Calvary. Remember Tiny Shorts McTiny? I also got to see my besties Micah, Ashley and Alecia. We got all caught up and ate queso as is […]

Leave a Reply

