Here’s The Thing

July 31, 2009

Here’s the thing: I’ve noticed that I say “Here’s the thing:” a lot when I’m writing. Now I’m all self-conscious about it. Leave me alone.

houseI was thinking that I should take some pictures of my sweet, little house and my room since our landlord is trying to sell it out from under us and I may be homeless soon. (Does anyone have a spare room? I have tons of furniture, I’m not a very good cleaner, and I will hog the TV.)

Oh, have I not yet mentioned this housing crisis? Our lease is up at the end of September and the owner would like to sell the house if possible. If she can’t sell it, we’ll re-sign our lease. I guess it’s not quite as dramatic as I made it sound.

But seriously, I SO don’t want to move. I hate moving with all of my heart. It’s stressful and forces me to come to terms with all of the crap I have under my bed for no reason, and really, it’s just a very bad time. So, pray that it doesn’t sell. Do not even tell anyone it’s on the market. And for heaven’s sake, don’t talk about it on a blog like I am currently doing. OK, good. I’m glad we’ve got that settled.

Umm, yesterday was apparently winter in Colorado. I think the high was like 55. I had to wear a sweater and put my snow tires on my car.

Why hello, Sawyer. I miss you.

Why hello, Sawyer. I miss you.

(What are snow tires, even? Do people really exert the energy to change out their tires every season? Mine had to literally blow up as I was driving down the highway for me to finally take the time to get new ones.) It was so cold out yesterday that I was almost even forced to wear my warm suede boots, but then I decided that I’m not brave enough quite yet.

Sadly, I am a giant nerd and I spent a lot of time last night watching Comic Con videos about the upcoming season of “Lost.” Also, I’m not quite sure what Comic Con is, but it looks like some kind of annual nerd convention for fans who know way too much about TV or comics or something. Anyway, “Lost” is going to be so good and I can’t even wait and I am so excited that I cannot even stand how good and exciting and wonderful it will be and I don’t even care if you think I’m a dork because “Lost” is the best show ever in the history of the world and I can’t wait for the final season!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Also, I was a bit comforted to see that there are even bigger “Lost” nerds than me. They were at Comic Con. Camping out. Dressed as “Lost” characters. At least I don’t dress up like people from the show–I’m not that crazy. Although, if there were a black girl on “Lost” who knows. Let’s just be glad there’s not.

I’m bout to get my Friday on, so don’t even try to stop me. We have lots of Focus on the Family Institute students in town for a reunion this weekend, which means seeing old friends and eating lots of free dinners. Win/win.

I’m just starting to read the book of Job in the Bible. It’s such a fascinating book to me. I know a lot of people have a really hard time with it because God allows Job to be afflicted and then, instead of answering Job’s questions, God just yells at him for a couple of chapters. But for some reason, I love it. Job, in all of his questioning, in all of his truly righteous indignation, shuts his mouth when God shows up. Because Job, unlike God, doesn’t know the place the lightning is dispersed. Job doesn’t give orders to the morning or show the dawn its place. God is the one who counts the months until the doe bears her fawn and He is the God who clothes horses with flowing manes. Job doesn’t. We don’t. Which is why God’s non-answer answer to Job’s questions is a comfort to me.

OK, deep breath. God is good and powerful. He has given orders to Friday and it has arrived. Bless Him!

Have a good weekend, pumpkins.

* Art by Marc Chagall

6 Responses to “Here’s The Thing”

  1. julieabel said

    Excited to get my Friday on as well. That bit about Job is deep. Too deep for me this AM. Have a wonderful weekend. Tootles.

  2. Jaci said

    OMG, LOST!!! I LOVE IT SO MUCH AND I LOVE SAWYER!!!!

    Whew, it feels good to get that out.

  3. Ashley said

    Know what I wish you would say more often in your blog? Touche, sailor. Or preggers. And also spank you very much. Please bring all/none of these phrases back to the blog-o-sphere.

  4. denisemorris said

    Julie: It’s too deep for me too. That’s why I write my blog posts at night.

    Jaci: Agreed 100%

    Ashley: These are excellent suggestions. I will work them into upcoming posts. Spank you for the ideas.

  5. Becca said

    Well, I guess you answered the question that every girl who watches “Lost” must answer: Jack or Sawyer? I’m a Sawyer fan as well. I guess it’s true what they say about good girls falling for the bad boys. Although, Jack’s no saint…I digress…when does next season start? 🙂

  6. denisemorris said

    Becca: I’ve SO become a Sawyer fan. He’s changed–he’s not bad anymore. Also, Jack bugs me. He’s whiney and has a hero complex. I’m glad you like Sawyer too. :-)It doesn’t start until January! What are we going to do until then?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

