I Jove My Friends

July 28, 2009

wedding

There are warnings of inclement weather today. In-cle-ment. I should probably stay home and try to sleep through the storm so that I don’t get scared, don’t you think?

So, this past weekend I went to a beautiful wedding of two beautiful friends in beautiful Estes Park.

It was beautiful.

The wedding ceremony was held in a camp amphitheater with a forest behind it. The bride walked down the aisle to “Chasing Cars” by Snow Patrol. There were candles in mason jars, lots of hydrangeas, and lovely green and brown tones. Everything was just perfect—congrats Matty and Jen!

Also, this weekend, my friendsies and I had a Denver Day of Fun Extravaganza! We went to the botanic gardens where we were able to frolic among prairie grasses and take pictures next to a surprising number of dinosaur statues around the park. Who knew that wild roses and T-Rexes shared a habitat?

Here we all are. Please note that we did not even plan our outfits—we are just cool/not cool enough to happen to wear the same colors for extravaganza days.

us

Here we are again, with all of the frolicking. Supposedly we are adults.

frolic

I like my friends—we have been through thick and thin. Mostly thick—as in we love us some appetizers. Seriously, though, I am blessed by these girls for the following reasons:

1. We have more inside jokes than we know what to do with. If you entered one of our daily conversations, you would probably not be able to understand about 75 percent of it. For example:

  • We say “jove” a lot. As in, “I jove you so much.” This comes from my mom once sending me a text in which she accidentally mistyped “love.” We’re all about the jove in my group of friends.
  • We also say “what-EVES” instead of “whatever.” I’m not sure why—perhaps another texting error?
  • We have nicknames for almost all of our friends including, but not limited to: Butch, Pee-Pants, Reverend, Fatty, Randall, T-Coon, Teestie, and Picky-Pants. I really can’t even remember how they all originated.

2. We get each other birthday gifts like fedoras and cat purses and High School Musical stickers, simply because we think it’s funny. Also, some of the friends actually love High School Musical, which brings me to another point: sometimes you have to accept your friends’ poor tastes. And sometimes they have to accept mine.

3. These girls all appreciate a well-rounded meal of chips and queso. It’s very important to all of us to be healthy eaters.

dinosaur4. Apparently, some of us really love to impersonate dinosaurs. It’s quirky and charming?

5. We all love Jesus, which is a good and beautiful thing.

6. We get each other and care about one another. Sometimes it’s just that simple.

Anyhoo, jove you, friends.

I need a new hairstyle. Mine is boring and ugly and stupid and boring and I hate it. The problem is that I don’t really want to go shorter, so I basically don’t have any options. What should I do? Please keep in mind that when we experienced .05 percent of humidity in Colorado this past weekend, my hair immediately sprang into Chia pet action. We’ve got to have a hairstyle that can be semi-controlled through hair spray, rubber bands, bobby pins and shellac.

There were some free breakfasts at Chick-Fil-A this month. Today was the last day so if you missed it, too bad for you, suckers. I missed them too. Surprisingly, food loses when it is in a battle with sleep. You win, sleep. You always do.

K, gotta go. Have a lovely day and remember that I jove you.

11 Responses to “I Jove My Friends”

  1. Jaci said

    I jove you too! And I’m so glad we’re all friends. Even when we do dress alike.

  2. Micah said

    Awwww…I joves you, too! Also, What-EVES is from Alecia’s creepy text-reading voice thing on her phone. And I can probably help you with most of those nicknames too! We crack me up.

    Alecia and I would like to propose a hairstyle that you might be a bit resistant to at first. However, we believe it will grow on you. CORN ROWS!!!! Manageable and meets all of your criteria!

    Just let me know when you’d like me to start a-braiding!

  3. denisemorris said

    Jaci: I’m glad we’re friends too.

    Micah: I’m de-friending you for that hairstyle idea.

  4. Alecia said

    Obviously I jove you too. But also, I really think you ought to consider the cornrow idea! I mean really, such little maintenance for those humid days and I really think they would bring out your eyes. And cheekbones.

  5. Ashley said

    I think Jove should be added to the dictionary. Obvio it is quickly becoming a phenomenon. Of course, Jilly Bean will be credited as the origins of jove.

  6. denisemorris said

    Alecia: Un-joved.

    Ashley: As long as Jilly gets her credit, I’m sure she’d be ok with it.

  7. Jill said

    I just want my credit. Is that so wrong? If only my credit wasn’t attached to poor speeling. 🙂 Jove you all.

  8. mj said

    Funniest post yet.

    “You win, sleep. You always do.” Comedic gold is what that is.

  9. denisemorris said

    mj: Tiny gold pieces of comedic hilariousness, is what that is.

  10. […] a jovely day, my friends! Posted by denisemorris Filed in Uncategorized ·Tags: Dave Barnes, People […]

  11. […] Remember that “natan” means “give” in Hebrew, so we are having a “natanaway” because, clearly I like to make up words. In fact, I jove made-up words. […]

Leave a Reply

