Surprises!

July 9, 2009

Remember back when I used to blog? Ahh, the good old days. Well quit complaining. Here is a new post. (Also, it has recently come to my attention that no one was complaining that I have not written a new post in awhile. You are all rude and mean.)

So, last Thursday I was tooling around the Interwebsies and Travelocity was advertising red hot deals to Fargo. Fargo is a city in a foreign place called North Dakota. momandmeMost people haven’t heard of it, so Travelocity must be hard up for deals if Fargo is their big news of the day. Now, I was actually excited to see these deals because my grandparents live in Minnesota about 45 minutes away from Fargo. Also, my mom was planning to be at my grandparents’ place for the fourth of July weekend. ALSO, her birthday was on Friday, the 3rd.

Slowly, my tiny brain began to formulate a plan. I could fly to Fargo. I could spend the weekend at my grandparents’ house. I could surprise my mom for her birthday!

So those are the things that I did.

My grandma picked me up at the airport and we sneaked down to their place and when my mom walked in a couple of hours later, I jumped out and yelled “Happy Birthday!” This is how she responded:

mom

She stood like that for a good 45 minutes until it finally registered that I am the best daughter ever. Then she gave me a hug.

So we had a good times weekend. My grandparents live in Detroit Lakes, Minnesota which is a lake town. We walked down to the lake and went shopping and watched fireworks over the water. My mom and I were friends all weekend. The bestest.

My grandpa is a barber and owns a shop in Detroit Lakes. He’s done it for more than fifty years, and as far as I can tell, he doesn’t have any plans to quit. His shop is cute and typical of all things small-town and northern Minnesotan.

shopThe shop is in an old building on main street.

windowMen come in to talk about the weather and local sports.

daleMy Grandpa Dale whistles and tells the customers jokes.

shop2Overall, it is good times.

I miss hanging out in that shop. I used to sweep the black and white tile floor, and Grandpa would give me money for an ice cream treat. Ahh, memories!

Enough reminiscing. Here is some more current news: I have a lot of freelance work to do. I also need to register for some classes, work out, read my Bible, and clean my closet. So instead of doing all of those things, I spent a lot of time last night watching YouTube videos of Michael Jackson performances. Then I downloaded some songs on iTunes. Then I made Jaci watch some Michael Jackson videos with me. Then I brushed my teeth. Then I practiced doing the Moonwalk. All that to say, I still have piles of freelance work and a very messy closet.

So those are the haps. Did you all do anything fun for the Fourth of July weekend?

6 Responses to “Surprises!”

  1. Alecia said

    I just want to know when we will get to see you do the moonwalk. I’ve heard rumors of a party Saturday evening that would make for a perfect environment for your debut.

  2. Ashley said

    Or perhaps an interpretive tap dance? I will loan you my tap shoes.

  3. denisemorris said

    Ashley, I was thinking we could do a duet-type thing?

  4. Jill said

    Your mother is homely.

  5. Natalie said

    Denise.
    I laughed all the way through you post. Iam convinced that you officially as random as Iam. Especially when I got to the part about you practicing the moonwalk. Keep up the good work!

  6. I went through Michael Jackson’s videos on YouTube when I found out he died, then proceeded to add most of his hits to my collection (there wasn’t an MJ song I didn’t like). I also then got caught up in a lot of freelance work, mainly for basketball. What classes do you need to register for?

    And it’s good to see you continue your theme of randomness even with a blog that isn’t about randomness 🙂

Leave a Reply

