Pirate Jewelry and Other Such Thoughts

June 22, 2009

Mondays, boy I hate Mondays. They make me so steamed. Weekends! I prefer the weekends! Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh.

It is a beautiful day in Colorado Springs! The birds are singing, the flowers are in bloom, and the smog from car pollution is creating a cooling cloud cover. Ah, nature.

Here is a joke my chiropractor told me. It may make your Monday better. But probably worse:

Q. How much does it cost to have a pirate pierce your ears?

A. A buck an ear!

My chiropractor is a jokester mcgee.

So I finished “My Sister’s Keeper.” I didn’t cry until the very end. Don’t be fooled, though. If your heart is not made of stone like mine, there are plenty of opportunities to sob throughout the entire book. I am now halfway through “The Time Traveler’s Wife.” I was super excited to read it because I thought it would remind me of LOST, but so far, it’s just half decent. Mainly because there’s not enough Sawyer.

So apparently teenage mothers in Greensboro, NC are paid $1 for each day that they are not pregnant. It’s a tactic stemming from behavioral economics and it seems to be working.

1. Umm, OK.

2. Click this link. Read the eighth comment. I think I agree with her.

3. It is working, though. The teen pregnancy rate went down.

4. But should we be bothered that it works? Should the reward for not being pregnant as a teenager be the fact that you’re not pregnant as a teenager?

5. I liked some of Chuck Colson’s thoughts on the matter. The short-term effects might be great, but the long-term effects may create people who will only do good if they can get something out of it.

6. Greensboro, NC owes me a lot of money.

OK, I’ve stepped off of my soapbox. Now let’s talk about food!

I’ve recently been making myself barbeque ranch chicken salads. I’m trying to copy the one at CPK. It’s not working. It’s still pretty tasty though, if I do say so myself. And deliciously unhealthy once you add all that ranch dressing.

Speaking of food and my semi-not-really health kick prompted by “In Defense of Food” and the Bible, you should check out this Boundless article about thoughtful food choices. I think it’s a good reminder that what we eat came from somewhere and was a part of God’s creation. Except for Doritos. I don’t think God created those. That crafty snake probably did.

OK, well, I’m pretty important so I should be going. Here is your assignment, should you choose to accept it:

1. Leave a comment, telling me what you’re doing today.

2. Bring me a treat. (Acceptable treats include chips, days off work, Tobymac concert tickets, new dresses, books, Target gift cards, or chips.)

This message will self destruct probably sometime soonish.

6 Responses to “Pirate Jewelry and Other Such Thoughts”

  1. Micah said

    Whew! I got in before the message self-destructed. Close call.

    I’m confused– do they only pay teenagers who are already baby mamas? I’m also wondering how one proves oneself “not pregnant” each month. I’m sure there are many, many ways.

  2. denisemorris said

    Yeah, I think you have to already be a teenage mother and then you will get $1 for each day you are not pregnant again… I have not heard the details about the not pregnant proof. Pregnancy test every day?! That’s a lot of work for the old city of Greensboro.

  3. agapelovelle said

    Time traveller’s wife is really good. It’s going to be a movie soon. Please pray they dont kill it the essence of the book. 😉

    you really make me laugh denise. 😛

    -lovelle

  4. denisemorris said

    Lovelle — It makes me happy that I make you laugh. 🙂

    I think this book is depressing me. All of the characters have kind of depressing lives. The movie does look good, though.

  5. Leah said

    “The short-term effects might be great, but the long-term effects may create people who will only do good if they can get something out of it.”

    Hmmm, I’m not sure. So often our society rewards the “bad” people who finally stop being bad. An example was my sister’s grade 7 class. (I’m Australian, we say Grade 7, not 7th grade. As a side note, my sister is almost finished grade 10, so this was a while ago.) The naughty kids were given extra computer time if they behaved. The well-behaved kids got no such benefit. My sister (obviously one of the well-behaved ones) was disgusted. She said “but we’re always good” (referring to her and her friends), “why don’t we get extra computer time?”

    Another example is a particular Australian sportsman who was always in trouble with the law (mainly for drunken activities) who was given a payrise by his club to stop acting up. Did the normally well-behaved team members get a payrise? No.

    But this is rewarding the kids who are actually doing the right thing. Yeah, there could be a side-effect of a fraction of girls developing the idea of only doing what’s right if there’s a reward, but does that mean we stop rewarding people for doing what’s right?

  6. Leah said

    (Btw: If this program does indeed only pay girls who are already young mothers, then I agree, throw the program out. But the article you linked to suggested it was for all teenage girls who were not pregnant.)

Leave a Reply

