Who Says Blog Posts Need a Theme? Or Coherent Sentences?

June 18, 2009

Jaci and I made cupcakes last night. This means that I ate a lot of cupcakes last night. It also means that I ate some cupcakes today at lunch. And since they’re around, I’ll have to eat some more cupcakes tonight. I don’t want them to go to waste.

My tummy hurts.

I can see the weekend approaching, looking all suave and carefree. I like you so much, Weekend. Usually it’s difficult for me to be vulnerable with my feelings like that, but hey, you bring out the best in me.

There are 700 moths in our bathroom at work. I think it’s rude to have to beware of flying, brown, wannabe butterflies landing on my head whilst I’m powdering my nose.

I am feeling a bit less hoity-toity because, despite the fact that I get pedicures, I still spend most of my time eating chips and sleeping. Hoity-toity people don’t do that, right? Just eighty-year-olds.

This is the most disjointed post ever created in the history of the world.

Avocados.

So I’m working on writing some Sunday School lessons at work these days, and one of them uses John 1. I really loved it in the sweet, heretical Message version. I think you should too. Here’s a taste:

The Word was first, the Word present to God, God present to the Word. The Word was God, in readiness for God from day one.

Everything was created through him; nothing—not one thing!—came into being without him. What came into existence was Life, and the Life was Light to live by. The Life-Light blazed out of the darkness; the darkness couldn’t put it out.

The darkness can’t put it out. No matter how hard it tries.

Remember how I’m going to Pilates? It is my favorite class because 1) I get to lie down, 2) They keep the lights really dim, so I can take a nap, and 3) I don’t sweat. It is the perfect workout class. Also, I’m pretty sure it doesn’t give me any kind of a workout at all. I’ve been told that it is a wondrous thing for my crippled back, though, so I will keep going at least for a few more naps workouts.

I know this post has been mind-numbingly boring so far, but don’t cry. I took this picture to make you feel happier:

starbutt

This is Star-Butt Pants. She just bought some pants one day with a star on the butt. I mean, why not? This way, if she ever gets separated from her group, she can call her friends on her cell and say, “Hello, friend. This is Star-Butt Pants. I’ve lost you, but perhaps, if you keep your eyes open, you can find me. I’ll be the one with the giant turquoise star on the butt of my pants. So keep your eyes peeled. For the turquoise star. It’ll be on the butt of my pants.”* I think it’s a good idea.

Well, I must be going. I’ve got chips to eat and naps to take. Star-Butt Pants and I hope you have the best of days.

Until next time!

* My friend Ashley, was the one who came up with most of Star-Butt Pants’ phone conversation. This is what we do with our lives.

22 Responses to “Who Says Blog Posts Need a Theme? Or Coherent Sentences?”

  1. Micah said

    Ah, but who came up with the name “Star-Butt Pants?” Because I’m not sure anything has ever been so creative in all the world…it’s scrumtrulescent.

  2. agapelovelle said

    so freaking funny Denise! (i got your blogsite by the way, I just read one of your posts from before and i fell in love with the rest of your funny and random stories)

    love your posts.

    When you want to come down to Sydney. I’d love to meet you in person. 🙂

    -Lovelle

  3. agapelovelle said

    i got your blogsite from BOUNDLESS by the way*

  4. denisemorris said

    Micah–I’m not sure who came up with that super creative name. It may have been a combined effort.

    Lovelle–I would love to come to Syndey! Buy my plane ticket, and I’ll be right over!

  5. Jaci said

    Avocados, indeed!

  6. Ashley said

    Thank you for the shout out. And the treat. And for being Jewish, even if we wouldn’t let you use your letters.

  7. It’s not a star. It’s a target, and I have a gun.

  8. denisemorris said

    Ashley: I’m still trying to forgive you for not letting me use my word.

    Bauman: It is SO a target. You should do some target practice. 🙂

  9. denisemorris said

    Alecia: When I clicked that link, I totally thought it said “Killer Moths.” I was never going to come back to work again!

  10. Becky said

    You’re hilarious, Denise.
    Jaci’s right … funniest line: Avocados.

  11. Natalie S. said

    Denise, I seriously had to catch up on your posts! I cant go too long without reading ur blogs because they remind me of my own randomness. Keep up the good work!

  12. Lottie said

    Lover. I am so glad you are practicing your cupcakerie skills. Our debut is getting closer and closer!!! Also facebook me back. Thank you. Miss you. Love you.

  13. Ashley said

    Um, your blog is funny. You are funny. And I only read funny blogs. Which is why I’m obsessed with BooMama, BigMama, The Pioneer Woman, and now You. Thank you for putting a light into my life.

  14. denisemorris said

    Ashley, thanks much! I only like funny blogs too. They’re so much better than unfunny ones.

  15. Sallie said

    It’s really a great and useful piece of information. I’m happy that
    you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this.
    Thanks for sharing.

  16. holidays Costa Blanca said

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this
    article and the rest of the website is very good.

  17. I’ve been surfing online greater than three hours as of late, but I by no means found any fascinating article like yours. It is pretty price enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet might be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  18. Kandi said

    I’ve been surfing online more than three hours lately, but I never found any interesting article like yours. It is lovely worth sufficient for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made excellent content as you probably did, the net will probably be a lot more useful than ever before.

  19. Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my

    twitter group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.

    Please let me know. Cheers

  20. Spot on with this write-up, I really think this web site wants

    rather more consideration. I’ll probably be again to
    read rather more, thanks for that info.

  21. Outstanding post but I was

    wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very grateful if you

    could elaborate a little bit further. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

