I Got a Job — hey, hey, hey, hey.

March 17, 2009

It’s Tuesday and I am feeling good! I have finished my major freelance projects, and I have this week to relax a bit. And Katie, my friend from college, is coming out to visit me this weekend. Partay! (And by “partay” I mean that we will probably eat at a restaurant, shop at The Gap and be in bed by nine. That’s our idea of a good time.)

Also, here is something that has happened: I accepted a full-time job! I will be working at David C. Cook, a publisher here in Colorado Springs. They’ve published some great books, and they’re also a leading distributor of Sunday School curriculum. I’ll be helping edit some of their current curriculum and also some new projects they’re working on. And my roommate Jaci works there!ย I start in a couple weeks, and I’m thinking it will be good times to have insurance again!

I’m also still really enjoying the part-time work I’m doing with the online community over at PurposeDriven.com. You should check it out and consider participating in some of the conversations in their forum.

So, that’s that. Here is another update: I am a horrible runner. I kind of always knew this, but it was confirmed the other day when I actually timed myself on my long run. I am running 73-minute miles. Pretty close, anyway. I’m not sure how to speed myself up, either. Any suggestions? And don’t tell me to “push myself” or I’ll have to push you. Down a mountain. And hope you get hurt.

Who remembers sweet dreadlock-y Jason Castro from last year’s American Idol? I loved him so much with his little smile and shyness and beautiful eyes. Did you also know that he loves Jesus? He does! You should totally watch this video. He talks about his faith and how he thinks life is about “getting to know God and what He likes and what He doesn’t like.” Awesome.

It is simply lovely here in Colorado Springs. It’s like 70 degrees. I think the victory garden is itching to be planted, don’t you?

I’m not quite sure what I think of the new Facebook yet. I’m sure we’ll all get used to it and quit complaining about it soon enough. But I’m still kind of in the complaining mode. Change is bad!

So I wrote this freelance article about Mad Imports, a company that pays artisans in Madagascar a fair wage to make awesome purses. All the products are environmentally responsible and the founder is totally changing the lives of Africans by helping them escape poverty. So I thought I should probably buy one to help out the cause, right? So I got this sassy Isadora clutch and I can’t wait for it to arrive! You should get one — they have some really fun colors, perfect for summer.

OK, those are all of the major haps. Purses, slow running, Jason Castro and new jobs. I hope you all are having an awesome week. I’ve been reading through 1 and 2 Samuel, and I am constantly amazed at how forgiving and gracious God is. I see it in my own life every single day.

Also, Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

10 Responses to “I Got a Job — hey, hey, hey, hey.”

  1. cara said

    Great update!!

  2. Derek Wong said

    Congratulations on the job(s)!

    I do remember Jason, and it’s always good to hear that someone is a believer. ๐Ÿ˜€

    As for the running, I would say that you should definitely try to vary the types of runs that you do. Try some hills, try a fartlek, try a tempo run. It’s definitely not easy to get faster, but keep at it and you’ll get there.

  3. LeAna said

    Congrats on the job! I never thought it would happen, never! Just kidding. ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for running: You may be slow, but have you ever been passed by a mom pushing a large stroller? I have…just the other day, in fact. So not that you should take my advice on how to get faster, but maybe try the workouts on http://www.crossfitendurance.com/. I like them, anyway. Also, you could run the CO marathon with me in May….come on, you know you want to….

  4. denisemorris said

    Thanks, Cara!

    Derek: I don’t know that I want to try anything called Fartlek. Also, I live in Colorado — I do hills every day whether I want to or not! ๐Ÿ™‚

    LeAna: Ha! Not been passed by a mom/stroller yet. It could happen though. I’ve heard of cross fit and it scares me. Maybe I should try it though. Also, I am running the Colorado HALF Marathon in May. That’s the only reason I’m training! You and I will probably finish at the same time, even though you’re running the marathon. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Sonya said

    Congrats on the new job, Denise! That is awesome! Did you know this yesterday when we met at the park? How rude of me not to ask! Let’s hang out soon.

  6. Jill Anttila said

    I was actually passed by an elderly runner while I was RIDING MY BIKE.

  7. wonki said

    congrats Denise!

  8. Ashley said

    Let’s not forget when a triathlete with a FLAT TIRE passed me on my bike, while I was pedaling just as furiously as my short little legs could manage. He was all spandexy and hard core, and I was all like . . . not.

  9. MeeMaw said

    So happy to hear of the new job.Good things happen to good people. Come see us. MeeMaw

  10. Jeff Bridell said

    Denise congrats on the new job. I was hoping you’d find a new job where you can use the gifts the Lord gave you.
    Blessings on your day.
    Jeff Bridell

Leave a Reply

