Trash Overload

March 6, 2009

Friday’s in the house! Seriously, Friday means nothing to me now that I’m not working an 8-5 job. I know it makes all of you happy, though, so I’ll pretend to be excited. Friday — woo hoo!

So I’m at Panera, working on an article, and trying to remember if I ever had any journalism skills. This whole writing coherent pieces thing is a challenge, people! I’m working on some cool articles, though. Once they’re published you all have to promise to read them and pretend that you can understand what I was trying to say.

Who watched “The Office” last night? Was anyone hit by Cupid’s sparrow?! Also, I’m kind of excited for Amy Poehler’s new show, “Parks and Recreation.” Hopefully it will be hilariously delightful.

I’ve seen a gazillion people I know at Panera today. Do you ever see people you know when you’re out and about but then pretend that you didn’t see them? Mainly just because you’re just not in the mood to chat about their job or what they’ve been up to or their dog’s glaucoma problems? Yes, you have. Don’t even try to lie. Umm, but I didn’t do that at all today…

You guys, I’m embarrassed by my life. Our sanitation engineers (the garbage men) come every Friday morning to pick up our trash. And every Friday morning I hear the garbage truck, realize it’s too late to put out the garbage before they get to our house, wait for them to ring the doorbell, sheepishly greet Henry and Anthony in my pajamas, open the garage door, wait for them to empty the container, drag the bin back into the garage, and then smile and swear to Anthony and Henry that we’ll remember to set it outside next week.

This week when I heard the garbage truck coming, I was just too embarrassed to go through the whole process again. Especially since last week I called and told the disposal company what a great job they do and that I so appreciated their efforts and was going to try harder to remember to put the garbage out. The shame was overwhelming. I just couldn’t do it. So, if you come over to my house this week, you’ll have to leave with whatever trash you create. We don’t have room for it.

It’s been kind of an odd week. I’m trying to decide what to do about a job, I’ve been missing one of my best-good friends, and I am tired of the garbage men seeing what I sleep in. But, thankfully, God is gracious to me. He’s reminded me that I need not be disturbed because I can put my hope in Him, my savior and my God. Good reminder.

So have a happy weekend! I’m going skiing and am uninsured — I think that’s a good combo.

4 Responses to “Trash Overload”

  1. Alecia said

    I’m sorry you’ve been missing me. I’ll try to see you more often.

  2. Jaci said

    I bet Henry and Anthony missed you this week. Next Friday we will make them cookies. And we will remember to put the garbage out. I will tie a string on my finger so I don’t forget.

  3. Derek Wong said

    Haha your trash men are much too kind! If we didn’t set it out, we’d just get passed by. Luckily I’ve made it a habit to get that trash out there. I don’t know what I’d do with another week’s worth. Ew.

    I’m jealous of getting to go play in the snow. I am slightly saddened by the fact that I did not go snowboarding AT ALL this season. And all signs point to me not going. :(!

  4. […] most exciting thing that happens on this day is that our garbage gets picked up. And remember how I kept forgetting to put the garbage out, and how our garbage men were so sweet and would always ring the doorbell and wait for me to pull […]

Leave a Reply

