The Monday Minutes

January 26, 2009

Herro!

Did everyone have a great weekend? What did you do? Why didn’t you come visit me? I went skiing, and took a nap and ate some dinners. That’s about it.

Colorado is having some identity issues lately. Last week it was all “I’m a summer state and I love being nice and warm and friendly.” Now this week, it’s “I hate everyone and I’m gonna be cold and miserable and snowy. Deal with it!” Silly state. It may need to start taking some mood stabilizers.

So last week I went to chapel at Focus on the Family and Selah was the musical guest. First of all, their voices are amazing. Loved it. Secondly, one of the band member’s wives shared about her experience of losing her little girl a couple of hours after she was born. They knew it was going to happen because she wasn’t forming correctly in the womb, but it was still so sad. They showed a video of a song they wrote for her and pictures they took in the hospital. You really should watch it, but be forewarned: You will need an entire box of Kleenex.

Once you’re done crying, you should watch a bit of Gladys. She’ll cheer you right up.

So I hear that they’re pushing back the deadline for the digital converter thingy for your TV. This is great news for me, since I am entirely too lazy to go to Wal Mart and get one. And then hook it up. Also, my coupon expired. So, for all of you who are just like me — you have four more months to continue the laziness!

One more thing. I’m reading Leviticus, and I’m not gonna lie — it’s kind of tough. All of the intricacies of the law are a little difficult to keep up with. I have been reminded, though, that God seems to really care about the details. There are a lot of details given, and most of it is related to stuff and the tabernacle and goats and cleanliness. How much more must He care about the tiny little intricacies of our lives? That’s a comfort.

Anyway, have a happy day and try to stay warm!

3 Responses to “The Monday Minutes”

  1. Laura Doty said

    Denise,

    My sister and I have been following the blog the wife from Selah writes. We cry every time she updates, what an amazing family and strong woman of God!

    Laura
    http://audreycaroline.blogspot.com/

  2. cboog1 said

    I think it’s awesome that you’re reading Leviticus! It’s on my list of “things to do before I meet Jesus face to face.” Right now I’m reading Jeremiah and my bible study is reading Romans. It’s really cool studying the two together, because God is showing me what the justification that Paul talks about, cost Jesus. It’s definitely been what my friend calls a “gut check” for me, in helping me to appreciate the value of grace.

    Btw, you should skip the converter box and just get digital cable. That way you can watch 3 or 4 different judge shows all at the same time lol.

  3. denisemorris said

    cboog1,

    Oh man, that would be the life — Judge Mathis, Judge Judy and Divorce Court all at the same time. I will totally get digital cable if you pay the bill for me. Deal?

Leave a Reply

