Where’s Your Chutzpah?

January 12, 2009

Hi Friendsies!

It’s just another manic Monday, am I right? Today I have gotten up, eaten lunch, complained about being unemployed, done a phone interview, shoveled the driveway and ironed a table runner. Look at me go!

I saw Bride Wars this past weekend. It was actually pretty cute. A little over the top at times, but I was entertained. Actually, the best part of the movie was the previews. There’s a new Renee Zellweger movie, New in Town, that’s coming out this year. It’s set in Minnesota (woot woot!), and I think it’s basically about how much she hates Minnesota and all the small-town, ice fishing people until ole Harry Connick Jr. heats things up for her. It looks kind of cute, except that it seems to make a bit too much fun of my home state. Only Minnesotans are allowed to hate Minnesota, Renee! Watch it.

Also, there’s another Night at the Museum movie coming out, and new Sandra Bullock film that looks pretty funny. Basically, I need some income so I can see all of these new movies this year! (So, I just wrote all of this and then decided I had to take a break from this academically challenging dialogue about upcoming movies. So, I clicked over to my friend Micah’s blog, and she wrote about the same stuff! Kindreds. That’s us. And apparently we’re not that interesting and only write about movies we’ve seen or will see soon.)

In other news, I was reading Genesis today and got to the part where Abraham and God start discussing Sodom and Gomorrah. I’ve heard lessons on it before, but this time it really hit me that Abraham sits and argues with God. God tells him He’s going to destroy those cities, and Abraham’s like, “wait, what if there are a few good men?! You wouldn’t destroy them would you?” He negotiates with the Lord all the way from fifty down to ten people. The Jews would call that chutzpah. It reminded me that I often don’t have enough chutzpah when it comes to my prayer life. If I’m praying about something, I’ll bring it earnestly to the Lord a couple of times, but then I get discouraged and give up. I don’t continue to plead with Him, to call out to Him, to beg for this or that. Sometimes it’s tough to figure out the balance between our will and God’s, but I think He wants us to at least try. He wants us to be constantly conversing with Him about the things in our lives. He wants us to show chutzpah in our chats with Him. Good reminder. Thanks, Abe.

Another good thing was my pastor’s sermon yesterday. He cracks me up. Every Sunday. Also he says good things about God and such. Listen to it here if ya wants. One other thing you should do: Check out my friend Jeff’s blog post about walking as Jesus walked. And watch the video. Then post your thoughts on his blog. I think it could be a really good conversation.

Anyhoo, I should be off. I’ve been trying to call the state of Colorado for details on unemployment services. They won’t answer. Rude.

4 Responses to “Where’s Your Chutzpah?”

  1. Micah said

    I was just going to say how great minds think alike, but you beat me to it. Actually you sort of said bored minds think alike, but what-EVES.

  2. Jaci said

    If you would write more posts, maybe I would comment more …

  3. miah said

    d,
    please don’t talk about anyone heating “things up” for anyone else ever again. consider that added to your digital “things denise should never say” list.

  4. Suzanne said

    Now I want to go see a movie. We should go!

Leave a Reply

