Eat Your Vegetables

January 8, 2009

So here’s something I’ve discovered: I do not normally brush my teeth for two whole minutes. It feels like that song is never going to end, people! Seriously — it makes me feel kind of bad. I bet you don’t brush for two minutes either, though. Go buy a singing Toby toothbrush and let me know if that song doesn’t feel like it goes on for ages. Then send me the toothbrush. (Calm down. I won’t use it. I just want to look at his picture.)

Speaking of pictures, here are a couple:

Spiff City, my green computer!

Spiff City, my green computer!

A really bad picture of Ezekiel the Fish
A really bad picture of Ezekiel the Fish

Well, that was exciting. In other news, while I was in Minnesota, I watched some shows on cable. I’ve discovered that there’s more to life than Judge Mathis. I mean, there are shows like Jon & Kate Plus 8! Definitely my fav ever. Those kids are so cute. There’s also one about that Arkansas family with seven thousand children. Not my plan for life, but hey, to each his own. I also saw that everyone in Orange County wears super dark nail polish. Luckily, I was already up on this trend, and I bought my dark purple O.P.I. nail polish months ago.

So now my nails look super trendy when I sit on my couch watching online video clips of Jon & Kate Plus 8.

So, I’m trying to read through the book of Genesis this month. I’m doing it in a version called, The Books of the Bible, and it’s so cool. This version doesn’t have any of the chapter or verse markings, so you read it how it was originally written. It feels much more like a book, and I’ve noticed that without the chapter markings or subheadings, I tend to read much more than I normally would. Anyhoo, I’ve been reading Genesis, and it seems to me that, before Adam and Eve ruined everything, we were all meant to be vegetarians. In Genesis 1:29-30, God gives humans and animals different kinds of plants to eat. As far as I can tell, it’s not until after the flood that God tells us we can eat animals. He says to Noah and his family, “Everything that lives and moves will be food for you. Just as I gave you the green plants, I now give you everything.”

What do you think? Were we originally supposed to be vegetarians? Did we only start eating meat until way after sin entered the world? I could totally be a vegetarian. I don’t like meat much anyway. It probably just means I’m a little holier than those of you who like steak. Besides, the best food combo out there requires no meat. Mr. Pibb + Red Vines. Crazy delicious.

Hasta la vista!

9 Responses to “Eat Your Vegetables”

  1. Derek Wong said

    Oh I do enjoy myself some Jon And Kate Plus 8. It sometimes makes me think that I could parent that many kids. Eh…and then I realize that’s just crazy talk. Sometimes I can’t do anything but shake my head at their kids!

  2. Jess Inman said

    Wow, that’s an interesting thought about original vegetarianism. I have absolutely no idea. I don’t really eat meat because I think commercial farming tends to be exploitative. But honestly? I’ve never had a conversation with God about our carnivorous (herbivorous?) nature.

    Anyway, I hope someone else has something more insightful to say!

    You missed me, didn’t you? 🙂 Im in ur comints, bein all kontrarian.

  3. julieabel said

    Laughing really hard about your comment about the Dugger Family. Did you realize that one of the girl’s names is Jessa? Thought that was cool. Only time I have ever seen Jessa’s name on anyone else. Thats all for now. Looking forward to you and MJ having dinner with us this weekend. Chow.

  4. Jill Anttila said

    Meat was introduced by God to Noah after the flood. I’m sure the vegetation was pretty much soggy. All death came after sin entered in.

  5. Kjersten said

    I love mr. pibb!!!

  6. julieabel said

    Thought of something else regarding this post this AM. If you stop eating meat you have to swear you will still make all of your friends heaven on a stick. Please raise your right hand now.

  7. denisemorris said

    Jess Inman — Love that your up in the bizness. 🙂 Perhaps I will become a vegetarian. Or maybe not. Either way, it is interesting to think about.

    Kjersten: I think I like Dr. Pepper better. But they taste pretty similar to me.

    Julieabel — No worries! 🙂

  8. Lydia said

    I have often thought about being a vegetarian. I never really thought God intended animals to be eaten. It would seem pointless to me to create such amazing creatures just for the purpose of being eaten. I think God created them for us (humans) to marvel over and maybe even play with. Hehehe. I have a hard time eating meat especially when I prepare it myself because I know it came from something living and breathing that God created. And yet I do anyways. I wonder why.

  9. […] of food and my semi-not-really health kick prompted by “In Defense of Food” and the Bible, you should check out this Boundless article about thoughtful food choices. I think it’s a good […]

Leave a Reply

