I’m Dreaming of a Tinier Waist

December 17, 2008

I’m writing this post on Tuesday night — totally new vibe for me. I mean, there are sitcom reruns on instead of court shows. I’m just not sure how I feel about this. We’ll see how it goes.

Well, today I got all gussied up for the graduation ceremony at the Focus on the Family Institute. I don’t work there anymore, but I spent most of the semester getting to know these students, so I went to say goodbye to everyone. It was a good time — lunch, student entertainment, a short lecture from Del Tackett. It was sad to see the students go. Single tear.

Today iGoogle told me that it was a steaming 29 degrees out! Amazing. I thought about wearing a tank top and shorts, but I thought I should dress a little classier for the graduation event.

So I watched White Christmas last night. I love it so much. The songs are great, the dancing is  magnificent, and most importantly, the outfits are fantabulous. I wish I lived in the forties so I could wear awesome clothes and sit on a train singing loudly about snow.

Also, please take a look at Vera Ellen over here. And her waist. It is the tiniest thing I have ever seen in my life! So tiny. So hateful. I want one.

Here’s something you should do: Follow me on Twitter! You’ll follow me, and I’ll follow you, and we’ll all be best friends forever. You’ll get all the latest updates about what I’m eating for lunch, when I’ve read something cool, where I like to shop. I mean, it’s a lot like this blog, except a lot fewer words to wade through. Sounds appealing, eh?!

A couple of my friends and I are going to memorize Psalm 34. Wanna join us? It was my friend Micah’s idea. She pointed out that there are some great verses in there to remind us of God’s goodness. Take verse  four for example, “I sought the LORD, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears.” He always answers. Good stuff.

Well, I’ve got to be going. It’s almost my sleepy times, and also, it looks like Monica and Chandler are falling in love in Las Vegas. Gotta see if it pans out for them.

Nighty night, friends

4 Responses to “I’m Dreaming of a Tinier Waist”

  1. Suzanne said

    Hmm. Well, this may or may not make you feel better, but Vera died of anorexia, so her tiny waist had its cost. I loved how they featured the average-waisted, and fabulous, Rosemary Clooney.

  2. Jill said

    Don’t take this as fact, but I’m pretty sure that Rosemary died of fatness.

  3. Kate said

    Vera Ellen did struggle with eating disorders for most of her life- that’s why she wore high-neck outfits in White Christmas: the anorexia made her neck look old and wrinkled.

    And Rosemary Clooney died of lung cancer, not “fatness”, though she did struggle with being overweight for many years.

    Maybe we should memorize Philippians 4:5, “Let your moderation be known to all,” and take care of our bodies, being content with what God gave us. None of us are perfect, and I don’t think any of us want to be.

  4. Cheddar said

    Hello I just happened to stumble onto this site and I just wanted to add that I believe Vera-Ellen also died of cancer at the age of 60. and I agree with you about White Christmas. I love the singing and dancing. I was so born in the wrong era

Leave a Reply

