Denise and Ezekiel: Friends for Life

December 11, 2008

Well, Ezekiel and I are sitting here in the living room, and we’re looking at the Christmas lights. Ezekiel, by the way, is my fish. Actually he belongs to all of us roommates, but I seem to be the only one who takes care of him, so he’s mine. Ezekiel is a beta fish. And he’s purple. Half of the time he looks dead — he rarely eats or moves. Kind of like me. Except for the eating thing.

Our friends gave us Ezekiel about a year ago as a housewarming gift. It was an interesting time in our lives. One of my roommates and I had been through difficult breakups. All of us were moving to a new place and looking for new hope. Our pastor had just preached on a passage from Ezekiel 37 that talks about God bringing dry bones to life. God, speaking about Israel, gives Ezekiel a vision in which he sees a valley of dry bones. Bones that are dry and old and crusty. But he prophesies God’s word to these bones, and they come together, bone by bone. And then God’s breath enters them and they stand up on their feet, a vast army of people who know that the Lord is God. My roommates and I memorized this passage, and we named our little, purple fish Ezekiel to remind us of the hope we have.

So anyway, Ezekiel and I are here chilling by the fire. Watching YouTube videos. Dave Barnes, who sings one of my favorite songs ever, Nothing Fancy, is also totally hilarious. My friend Ashley sent me this video of him sharing some Christmas songs. So, to get you in the Christmas spirit, watch this immediately:

You’re welcome.

In other news, my new computer is still not here!!! My experience with Dell is not starting out so great (shut up, Jeff). I keep checking the status of my order, and it keeps not changing. It has been “in production” for a week. So yesterday I called Dell to see what the dealio was, and I talked to some lady (who I’m fairly sure was in India) and she was like, “Look, I can’t help you. I don’t know what’s wrong with your order.” She then patched me through to another line, where I listened to music and a recording for a hundred hours. Then I hung up. The recording did tell me that they’re experiencing high volumes of orders and are running a bit behind. I assume this is because of this Christmas season. Apparently some people buy each other computers for Christmas. I wouldn’t spend that much money on a Christmas gift, but hey, to each his own. I would just like my own computer at some point within the next two weeks.

Looks like Regis and Kelly are giving away a car. I’m totally gonna win it.

I have a third job interview later this afternoon. Pray for me!

OK, Ezekiel and I have more YouTube videos to watch. Catch ya later!

11 Responses to “Denise and Ezekiel: Friends for Life”

  1. Micah said

    Jew know I will be praying for your interview. Anyone would be lucky to have you as an employee. In fact, if they don’t hire you, I will. As my personal assistant. Problem solved.

  2. Caroline said

    Aw, thanks for reminding me of that awesome video, Denise!! I’d seen it before but I clearly needed it another time.

    Fun fact: I have met Dave Barnes’s brother…so, it’s kind of like Dave and I are BFF now. Just saying.

  3. Jaci said

    I totally feed Ezekiel! At least twice a week, I swear. I have also cleaned out his fish bowl on occasion, and unlike some people, I have never torn holes in his fins. So I’m pretty sure Ezekiel would much rather be mine. Not yours.

    I can’t believe you would say that I never take care of him. I don’t know if we can be friends anymore.

  4. denisemorris said

    Jaci does feed him every few weeks. This is true. But he loves me more.

  5. denisemorris said

    @Caroline: That totally qualifies you as BFF with Dave Barnes. 🙂

  6. Jeff said

    Hmmmmm . . . it might not be too late to cancel the order . . . just saying maybe it’s a sign.

  7. Brian said

    I agree with Jeff. It is a sign and you must see the error of your ways, cancel with Dell and get a Mac. 🙂

  8. Becky said

    Good luck on your interview! Does it happen to be at Compassion? (My friend Melissa Lemke said you might be …)

  9. andrulee said

    hahaha… Here is some more stuff about watch bones

  10. […] of hiring her to come breathe some life into our shriveled victory garden. • I don’t think Ezekiel the Fish is doing very well. He basically lies at the bottom of his bowl all day every day. (He’s done […]

  11. […] Ezekiel the Fish has gone on to be with the Lord. […]

Leave a Reply

