I Found the Poll Application!

December 5, 2008

It’s Friday! Still exciting, even when you’re jobless. There’s just something objectively good about Friday.

So last night I saw the Trans Siberian Orchestra. Basically, forget everything you ever thought you knew about orchestras. This is not a solemn, sophisticated affair. This is a rock orchestra of awesomeness. I think all of the band members are washed-up rockers from the eighties who have, for some reason, gravitated toward turning Beethoven’s works into shredding electric guitar solos. They all have super long hair that they like to swing around as they play their sweet guitars and electric violins. But let me tell you something, people, the Trans Siberian Orchestra is fantabulous. Their light show alone is worth the money. I never thought I could be so impressed with flashing lights, but they are amazing. Lazers, fire — it’s non-stop action. I definitely recommend seeing them if they and their hair come to your city this winter.

I really haven’t gotten any good tv-watching in today. I did catch a glimpse of Regis and Kelly throwing ice cream at each other or something. I noticed that Kelly seems to wear cute shoes pretty often. She and I would probably be friends. I missed The Office last night due to the orchestra, so I’m going to have to catch up on Michael Scott’s antics at some point. I hope I can find the time in my busy day of not working

Here’s something: On Saturday, I am hosting a Christmas party for those of us who volunteer in my church’s coffee shop. Guess how many Christmas decorations we have up at our house? Zero. Not one bit of Christmas spirit to be found anywhere, except in the basement storage room. Also, one of the people who lives in this house is currently unemployed and could probably tear herself away from court shows long enough to put up a string of garland. Unfortunately, that person is incredibly lazy and spends time typing up posts about said laziness. What to do?

I am still trying to figure out old Word Press and how to make my blog cooler. So far, I have been unsuccessful. I do notice a polling device that I may need to put to some good use. Let’s test it out. (Update: I am dumb and had trouble figuring out how to publish my poll, but luckily, my roommate Jaci is smarter than I am. Thanks, Jaci!)

OK, everyone vote! I am very excited. It’s going to be poll city around here pretty soon.

That is most of my exciting news for today. My former co-workers had a goodbye lunch for us today and gave us awesome gifts. I have tons of envelopes with treats inside each one! I am supposed to open one a day, but I think maybe one a minute will have to suffice.

Also, as indicated in my poll, my friends Micah and Alecia have offered to take me to a movie tonight. And they brought me Starbucks this morning! They are still feeling sympathetic because I am pathetic and jobless. Hooray for great friends!

Hope you have a lovely Friday!

8 Responses to “I Found the Poll Application!”

  1. Becky said

    I’m going to see Australia tonight.

  2. Jaci said

    Don’t go see Australia because I want to see it too. Also, I accidentally voted for Australia, and then had to vote for The Dark Knight twice. Sorry I skewed your results. You’ll just have to deal with it.

  3. denisemorris said

    Becky, let me know what you think!

  4. denisemorris said

    I think there are some cheaters (Micah and Alecia) who are swaying the vote.

  5. Julie A. said

    Denise- Great insights about TSO. They reminded me of all of the former member of Creed for some reason. Watching it I felt very old b/c it was too loud for my taste, but it did give me a flashback to the 80s hairbands I loved in jr. high. For those of you who thought it dead- Glam Rock is alive and well with TSO.

  6. Lottie said

    TSO is terrible, I used to love them, but then I saw them last year and some man poured his beer down my back and it was so, so loud like unbearable loud and I like loud but it was awful, except for the homeless man that turns out to actually be a crew member and getting to walk out of there which makes your ears feel so good runon sentence, are you so freaking out, this is so you have something to edit in all your free time, love you.

  7. jen said

    Hi Denise,

    Nice work on the poll! 🙂

    May I ask you help on how you got that poll and how I could apply it on my site as well? I’m dumber than you probably. hehehe

    thanks a bunch! 😉
    jEn

  8. denisemorris said

    Hey Jen!

    If you go into your dashboard, there’s a link for “polls” on the left side of the page. It’s pretty easy after that!

Leave a Reply

