Fresh, Snowy Perspective

December 4, 2008

People, it is a new day! There are things to do, people to see, places to go. I may be jobless, but that doesn’t mean I can’t have a productive life.

For example, I got up much earlier today so that I could watch more fulfilling television, such as Regis and Kelly. Their cheery attitudes and fresh perspective on beautiful baby contests is invigorating.

Also, I woke up to a snowy day! It’s falling gently and swiftly, and it puts me in the Christmas spirit. It also reminds me that my tires are nearly bald and I will probably get into a horrible accident on my way to Chick-Fil-A today. But, that is a downer type of attitude, so I am going to ignore my impending doom and instead point at the snow and say “ooh, pretty”!

If I make it to lunch without dying, I then have to brave my way through the snow to my second job interview with a local ministry! Woo hoo! Please pray that it goes well and that I am able to wow my interviewer with my vast knowledge of Judge Mathis’ court rulings.

The day only gets better from there. My department at my former job (weird!) is so great, and they’re still allowing us in on all of the Christmas festivities. We’re going to see the Trans Siberian Orchestra and then we’re getting chocolate fondue. I am super excited for two reasons, 1) Trans Siberian Orchestra is awesomely amazing, and 2) chocolate.

In other exciting news, I bought a new computer last night! Now, I know I don’t have a job and all, but this was not a splurge purchase. I figured that a prolific blogger like me should probably have her own computer. Just a thought. The computer was actually pretty cheap, and also, it is pretty nifty. Forget your old black or white or silver computers of the ancient past — mine comes in spring green! Spiff city! I will give all the exciting details of my new computer when it arrives in 3-5 days.

What other boring things can I tell you? I watched a good movie last night called Lars and the Real Girl. You should check out Matthew’s review of it. It was quite excellent in a random, weird way. I suggest renting it/buying it for me for Christmas.

OK, well I’ve got important things to do like watching the snow fall and practicing some chocolate-eating before the real event tonight. Enjoy your day!

9 Responses to “Fresh, Snowy Perspective”

  1. matthewhjohn said

    “Spiff city.” Really? 😉

  2. Jill Anttila said

    I really wish you had a better mother. I didn’t know you bought a computer.

  3. Derek Wong said

    I don’t know how many friends you have (I’m guessing quite a few), but you’re going to end up with a whole lot of copies of Lars and the Real Girl. What a chance for re-gifting! (Or I suppose trading them in for other miscellaneous movies.)

  4. denisemorris said

    matthewhjohn: really. 🙂

    Jill Antilla: I am accepting donations to the Denise’s Spiffy Computer Fund.

    Derek: You don’t know my friends. They’re pretty cheap. (Just kidding, friends! I love you!)

  5. Jill Anttila said

    Did you not receive my generous Thanksgiving gift?

  6. Suzanne said

    Uh, oh. Was “spiff city” on your list of things you cannot say? BTW, is that list moot now that you’ve left Focus?

  7. Courtenay Roberts said

    Regis and Kelly, Chick-fil-A, Judge Mathis, job interview, and watching snow fall…sounds like a fabulously productive day to me! But then I’m in favor of any day that includes Chick-fil-A lol.

  8. […] and bordering on abuse. And I’ve been freelancing. AND my computer has started to act funny. Spiff City, don’t fail me […]

  9. […] it be great if I could sip coffee, clack out some words on Spiff City, and spend all of my days writing blog posts about sipping coffee and clacking out some words on […]

Leave a Reply

