Officially Dis-Employed

December 3, 2008

I’m officially unemployed today.

Well, I guess I’ve been officially unemployed for a few weeks, but today is the first day that I’ve not been at work or on vacation. Today is the first day that I’ve slept in and then trudged down the stairs so that I could sit on the couch in my pajamas. Today is the first day I’ve had the pleasure of experiencing Judge Mathis and the upstanding citizens suing one another in his courtroom. Today is the first day I’ve not showered until after noon. Wait a minute … this sounds very much like a typical Saturday. This may not be so bad after all…

Anyhoo, I am a bum. I am applying for jobs and such, though. Monster.com is only recommending some available jobs as a technical writer. Umm, I’m not sure that I’d do too well writing manuals and such. Manuals don’t usually include words like “awesome,” “Denise is awesome,” and “send Denise some money.” Those are really the only things I have experience writing. I don’t think I’d last.

Uh oh. Treneesha does not look very happy with Judge Mathis’ comments.

Besides searching for jobs, filing for unemployment, working on some freelance contacts, and checking Facebook frequently, I am also trying to figure out what kind of creative Christmas gifts I can make this year.  When I was young, I was pretty good at those glittery pine cones. I was also good at writing, directing and starring in my own Christmas plays. I’ve got the home videos to prove it. Maybe I could revive that tradition — I’m sure my plays would be much more sophisticated nowadays.

In other exciting news, I plan to go to the grocery store today. And perhaps shower. Really, I don’t have time to be updating this blog since I’ve obviously got things to do. Also, Judge Mathis is getting ready to give his ruling. See ya tomorrow!

17 Responses to “Officially Dis-Employed”

  1. Derek Wong said

    I came here after seeing your post on Boundless. Your writing is amusing so I will subscribe to your blog (for now). Funny that I never subscribed to TrueU, though. Anyways, keep up the good work lest you get laid off from my RSS reader. 😛

  2. Suzanne said

    I think you have a future in humor writing! I’m serious. (That is why I am not a humor writer.)

  3. denisemorris said

    Derek, I will try not to disappoint. Also, I will give you a glittery pine cone if you keep reading.

  4. denisemorris said

    ha! Suzanne, that was funny! You should so be a humor writer.

  5. Christopher in Albuquerque said

    Sister, I feel your pain! I’m currently waiting for news on a possible job at my church– please pray! Thanks! I have a physical disability, can’t drive (due to the disability), and live in a city with mediocre public transportation, so for me, both finding a job and actually getting there can be difficult. I’ll be praying for you!

  6. Kelly said

    Hey Denise,
    Miss you. You are welcome to come help me bake all my different Christmas cookies and give them as gifts! Then my cookies will be awesome!!!!

  7. miah said

    Wow, I wonder what day two of official dis-employment is gonna look like. Can’t wait!

  8. Jill Anttila said

    Treneesha

  9. Sherry said

    Denise,
    I am sorry you were “laid off” and especially for the reason that FOTF had to lay off people. Yes, God is in control and will provide but I question the judgement of an organization when it puts its (loyal) employees at risk. That is just sad.

    You seem to have a great attitude and will no doubt be a success in whatever you do. God bless you as you move forward.

  10. denisemorris said

    Sherry — thanks so much for your concern. It’s so appreciated! Focus had some tough decisions to make, and I don’t envy the leadership. I know it was difficult for them. We’re trusting that God has a plan!

    Christopher — I hope you find a job very soon! Praying that the church one works out.

    Kelly, I’d love to bake cookies with you sometime! 🙂

  11. I was laid off from my job this past September due to a corporate buy-out. As a person employed by the automotive industry, my job search has proved long and difficult.

    The best thing about it all has been the fact that I am now caught up on my sleep. I have am more mentally alert and clear than I can remember. I plan to get more sleep when I am once again employed.

  12. denisemorris said

    J.K. Jones — I’m sorry to hear that you were laid off. I do love sleep, though. I agree that sleeping will probably be one of the best things of not having a job. 🙂

  13. Micah said

    Awww…Jilly Bean stole my comment!

  14. denisemorris said

    hahah! I love old Treneesha.

  15. Not a good time to be laid off. Our company is actually growing. We can use some good people. When you’ve had enough vacation time let me know. I’ll give you some details.

  16. Emily said

    I am very sorry to hear you were laid off. I finished my master’s in 2008 and I had a very difficult time looking for a position. I finally have two jobs. While I work part time, with both jobs combined, I think that I have developed a fresh perspective and enthusiasm about putting in a day’s work – in a field that I planned to leave behind! I spent several months looking and I experienced a lot of emotional highs and lows. However, now I look back and see that God put me in the right placement.

    I will pray for you daily to find a position that is a good fit for you and where you will feel as if you are being used and that you will sense God sustaining you as you wait for the right fit. I have never read TrueU e-zine, but I trust that people were blessed by reading your writing.

    Have a great evening and a wonderful Christmas.

  17. denisemorris said

    Thanks so much for your comments and prayers, Emily. I so appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

