No Worries

March 5, 2014

Lent starts today, guys. (I made paleo pancakes last night because I just happened to be hungry for pancakes, and also it was Fat Tuesday, and also I can’t eat fattening foods because I would like my white dress to fit this summer. p.s. Paleo pancakes are not as good as delicious, normal pancakes.)

I like Lent. I like it because the date of Easter changes every year, and during Lent I am so aware that it is coming — that the death and resurrection that brings restoration is on its way! I like that in giving something up, I am reminded of the One who emptied himself for my sake. I like it because it makes Easter Sunday so, so joyful!

So as I thought about Lent this season, I thought of my past year. Ugh. It has been and continues to be hard. The past week has been rough — I have felt sad and mad and listless at times. It has been hard for me to see bright spots. I have thought of every worst-case scenario for the next ten years.

Because of all this, I have decided to give up my favorite pastime for Lent — worry.

I’m worried about how it will go.

(See what I did there?)

I’m not quite sure how to go about giving up worry. Most of the time I don’t even know I’m doing it until I suddenly realize I’m thinking about how I will have to work on a ranch in Montana so I can live close to the Canadian border so that Andrew can come see me and our future children on weekends. Or something equally as reasonable.

praymore

But it’s dumb, you guys. I read this post by someone else who gave up worry for Lent one year, and it described exactly what I do:

Suddenly, it became crystal clear to me why I worry so much. Somewhere along the line, I’d convinced myself that worrying prevented bad things from happening, or at least, mitigated the damage when the worst occurred. Worrying helped me prepare a mental emergency first aid kit, and if I could manifest that preparation, like the gray tub of survival supplies in the garage, all the better.

I try to control everything by worrying. If I’ve imagined the worst, I won’t be surprised. If I’ve thought of all the horrible options, I won’t be caught off guard. It’s really dumb and not helpful. And most of all, it shows that I am not trusting God’s control. I am not trusting his character and plans.

So, what I am going to try to do for the next 40 days (and hopefully beyond) is redirect my thoughts when I realize I’m worrying. I will pray about whatever I’m worrying about. I will read my Bible. I will remind myself that worrying doesn’t work — what’s the point? I will pray for someone else. I will try to notice something in that moment to be thankful for. I will ask God to help me to trust him more and more each day.

If you want, you can do it too or help me out. I am going to Instagram a picture a day under #noworrieslent. You can Instagram along with me (my username is denise_ruth) and share your own ways you are trusting the Lord instead of worrying.

So that’s my plan. Sometimes I will blog about it; sometimes I won’t. (I like to be unpredictable. Like John Travolta’s name pronunciations.)

Anyhoos. Thoughts on Lent? Giving something up? (I recommend giving up paleo pancakes for Lent.) No? Love Lent? Hate it? Leave me a comment!

Have a good day! Don’t worry!

6 Responses to “No Worries”

  1. Hannah Brandes said

    This is great. I just wanted to pop my head into the comments area to let you know that I always enjoy your blog, but I am even more excited to hear more about what you learn during Lent. I love this idea of giving up worry. And I love Lent. Mostly because Easter is the BEST and the anticipation and waiting during Lent is so meaningful to me. For Lent this year I decided to meditate on and learn more about waiting. Everyone I can think of is waiting for something. I’m waiting for a spouse, you’re waiting for Canada, friends are waiting for pregnancies, for health, for new jobs, etc. I actually think that waiting and worry are closely tied for me, so thanks for sharing your thoughts and feelings on this!

  2. denisemorris said

    Thanks, Hannah! Yes, I think waiting and worrying are often closely linked. Waiting gives opportunity to worry. Easter IS the BEST!!!!

  3. Anonymous said

    My contribution to supporting you through Lent. Your new jam.

  4. Tara said

    Consider this my way of supporting you through Lent. Your new jam.

  5. Tara said

    I posted the same thing twice- once paraphrased. How gauche. I’m sorry. #sorrynotsorry

  6. denisemorris said

    Take the wheel!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 382 other followers

